Mail Art Postcard No. 4534…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s wrinkled old black and white snapshot is the one of me standing chatting with Richard M. Nixon on the lawn of the White House in 1973, I’m the one on the left grinning and smoking the pipe.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4534But here’s another photo, well, not a photo really, it’s one of my mail art postcards, a simple collage on a striking fluorescent background using snippets from that awful, but for some reason popular, British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
What a jolly composition! As usual I don’t know who these people are (and if you know, please don’t bother contacting me to tell me – no, I’m really not interested), but I strongly suspect that they are the stars (If that is the correct term for such people) of some TV soap opera.
Yet again I can’t resist mentioning how easily our brains visually accept these blatantly stuck-on facial features; we readily tie them in to the image and read the new composite face as a whole, seeing new facial expressions, and possibly even a hint of personality, formed from the interaction of the applied item with the original. Is this just me, or does it work that well for you too dear reader?
Although smiling, I reckon she is muttering under her breath, ‘Another bloody photo shoot!… I hate these things, and my feet are killing me in these sodding shoes – I’m going to have to have some very sharp words with those nitwits in the costume department first thing in the morning!…’
And he is thinking about a cold beer or two, his faithful Jack Russell terrier waiting on the sofa at home, and the motor racing and football he could be watching on the TV…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, composition, design, drama, history, humour, information, photography, postcards, seeing, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4534…

  1. Oh yeah, its them off…umm…thingy….can’t recall now, its been years since I watched soaps. Although the first thing I thought when I saw him on the right was “oh, Julian Clary” haha! (http://i2.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/incoming/article1229738.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/Julian%20Clary.jpg) but yes, interesting smiley face collage there πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

