Another linocut – the early stages…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s instruction is to open up all the side vents and push pieces of damp towelling into the pipes with your fingers, switch all the fans on, then go stand outside and smoke a cigarette for a few minutes. When you return the apples should be ready for rounding off.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DSCN4627Yes, I know, it seems only five minutes since I showed you something similar to this; it’s another preliminary (what a lovely word! Preliminary…) sketch for a possible lino print – I doodled this last night whilst listening to a very dreary Al Pacino film on the TV – Insomnia (2002). I say ‘listening’ because I was mainly looking at this drawing pad rather than the TV screen. Whatever the film Al always seems to be the same bulging-eyed, open-mouthed, staring-at-the-camera, miserable person, but I digress…
Yes, this is the pencil drawing, still in its tweakable (another good word!) stage. That zigzaggy thing enveloping the bendy black thing could be a bit shorter on the right where it encounters the vertical white pointy triangle – that little black square could go too… Sorry, just thinking out loud…
I stood the pad on this old bentwood chair so that it would catch my eye first thing this morning – it’s always good to have a look at the previous night’s ideas in the cold light of day. Hm, I think this design will be alright – it’s quite jumpy and lively isn’t it? I will of course let you see the print when it is finished dear reader.
Oh, sorry, I’ll bet you are wondering what all that slightly out of focus stuff is in the background of the picture. That’s my modest collection of junk shop art: bad paintings, faded prints, brass plaques, and wall mounted knickknacks – I call it The Pink Wall of Tat. If you’d like a better view of it you could click here

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, creation, design, drawing, Film, fine art prints, humour, information, instruction, lino printing, style, surrealism, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another linocut – the early stages…

  1. Ah HA! The PWOT, I was wondering when that would make another appearance 😀 Now to this new piece….I do like how the “black bendy thing” contrasts with the rest of the angular elements. Those two shaded triangles at the top remind me of Star Trek (https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/e3/20/fd/e320fd5402e0425ca5ca3ac5fcabd524.jpg) are you a Trekky at all? This is a very interesting piece, you know….

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Yes, the PWOT has just a cameo role this time.
      Those triangles – yes indeed, the Star Trek badge!
      A Trekky, me? Oh yes, really I only like the Shatner/Nimoy ones though – the Jean-Luc series seems to have dated badly compared with the old very old ones…

      • Oh yes, I had a bit of a crush on Spock when I was younger. It was those pixie ears and emotionless demeanour, haha! I’m not a fan of Jean-Luc either, although I do enjoy watching Kathryn Janeway as captain. (a tiny bit of feminism coming out there! 😀 )

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Oh yes, Spock – what a guy!… My favourite character.
        As for Janeway – I never got on with her series, and I thought that she was ‘a little bit strange’ – that’s as far as I’m going here…

      • Haha! Fair enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

