One or two short items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s armadillo is the cute furry one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 395.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to wait in for the exorcist.

A single overheard remark:
‘You are very incongenial…’

Good god! Look at that!… Oh, no, sorry, my mistake. Somebody had put a pink balloon in that litter bin – the gusts of wind were catching it and making it bob about, for a moment I thought that there was a short bald man hiding in there…

‘So, what do you do for a living?’
‘I’m a concert pianist.’
‘Oh, that’s nice. Have you been in show business a long time?’
‘Show business?… How dare you!… I’m a concert pianist!’
‘Hm…’

So, is a pun one worm that sounds like another and used for humorous effect?

Ah, now then. What’s this, just appeared in my comments box? Oh, it’s an item of spam, it seems to be from someone called Bruins custom jerseys:
due to an accounting gimmick”He was Ken Lay”He say so the deceased Enron CEO. It is the part of the parents. Raising a multilingual child is a commitment. Kick boxing in Thornton as well. There are many intangibles to work. Nothing ever really panned out in the history then determine whether the PFGE pattern of E. coli 0157 bacteria from you is the same as Seattle Seahawks (-1) at St Louis Rams o/u 39. Mile post 8will provide music.. for example,
Well, thank you Bruins custom jerseys, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

A couple of days ago I happened to hear a posh-sounding chap talking on the radio, it was BBC Radio 3, the BBC’s rather snooty classical music station. He was going on about someone called Staarlen – initially I thought that must be some Nordic composer or conductor I’d never heard of, but no, the talk turned out to be on political history and he was actually discussing Joseph Stalin. Oh, and by the way, this chap doing the talking was, I discovered, called Simon Sebag Montefiore – Gosh! What a great name for a posh BBC broadcaster, and what a nice lot of bouncing syllables too!… (SSM)

A single overheard remark:
‘So I sat down in the Cotswolds…’ (C)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in conversation, cool, existentialism, humour, information, music, observations, overheard, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One or two short items…

  1. Not sure I understand the worm pun thing? Maybe today I lost my humour under the cushion of something…..But that SSM chappie, gosh he does like to laze around doesn’t he, looking all casual and nonchalant. Nobody with a name like that can be nonchalant! 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah, perhaps I’m being a bit too obscure… Worm = word… It’s just an attempt at amusing wormplay… Ah well, you can’t win ’em all…
      Simon Sebag Montefiori looks like he needs a good slap around the cheeks with a wet head of lettuce…
      [A question my dear Scribbler: Are your emails working alright?…]

  2. parkartist says:

    Always refreshingly zany.

Leave a Reply

