I could feel him watching me…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word ‘bathysphere’. (B)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

It was a Sunday afternoon, it was quiet, there was little traffic on the roads, and I was sauntering down the side of one of the main roads into the city. There were some shop fronts to my right and some railings to my left, and – and I suddenly had one of those, ‘I am being watched’ feelings. I glanced around, but there was no one there… then I spotted him… I hadn’t noticed him at first as he was so low down, but out of the corner of my eye I must have somehow registered his presence.

dscn4613Look at him crouching there! It’s those eyes of course: most birds have eyes on the sides of their heads so that they get a nice all-round view of the world, but swivel-headed owls have their eyes on the front pointing forward like us clever humans; I suppose that’s why we find them so appealing, and maybe because of those eyes that we sometimes assume them to be ‘wise’.
‘Come on Dave,’ he chirped up, ‘ why don’t you take my photograph, you could share it with your silly friends on the internet?’
‘Alright,’ I said, and I got my little camera out… Click.

So what is this?
Well, to the right of the picture you can see the edge of a public waste bin; these seem to made of a kind of wood-chip board and covered with a thick weather-proof coating, possibly moulded fibreglass by the look of it. I think our cheeky owl was a part of a previous bin which been in place there, the one on the right being a replacement after some drunken Dulltown chap had, for some reason, taken a dislike to the first one, and had decided to demolish it and kick the remaining pieces around the street – thus creating a little humorous  work of art for us to enjoy today…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I could feel him watching me…

  1. Oh yes, an owl was the first thing I thought of when i saw this. He needs a name – Bernie, perhaps. Just goes to show what lurks around below the eyesight. I’m more of a “looker downer”, than a “looker upper” – although I haven’t found any owls sadly. Mostly fag ends and the occasional fiver.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      “Mostly fag ends and the occasional fiver.”
      When you pick them up do you put them in separate bags or just the one?
      Is your internet is back on then?…

      • hahaha! No I don’t touch anything at ALL, and the fivers are usually curled up with suspicious white stuff on it. I don’t touch them either as it happens. Its just odd how these items end up on the ground, together, like a comment on society……

  2. memadtwo says:

    I think he’s looking at something else, actually…

  3. Rebecca says:

    He looks like he’s pointing (which is bad manners, doesn’t he know it’s rude?) Maybe the rules are different for owls. Or maybe he’s just ushering you a little to his left so you don’t obstruct his view…

Leave a Reply

