Just a few titchy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: Polly pink, Barry beige, Lawrence lemon, Mortimer maroon, Orville orange, and Sebastian mauve.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 306.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was trying to make my dulcimer louder.

A single overheard remark:
‘All my hair was out sticky…’

So you see, now the teenage guitar-strumming cool guy is singing:
Don’t look around ’cause love is blind,
And darling right now, I can’t see you.
I’m feeling proud so without a doubt,
I can feel you.
……
‘Cause we are who we are,
When no one’s watching.
And you’re right here from the start,
You know I got you.
(ZM)
Whereas the teenage guitar-strumming cool guy back then was singing:
Darkness at the break of noon,
Shadows even the silver spoon,
The handmade blade the child’s balloon,
Eclipses both the sun and moon,
To understand you know too soon, there is no sense in trying.
……
Pointed threats, they bluff with scorn,

Suicide remarks are torn,
From the fool’s gold mouth-piece, the hollow horn,
Plays wasted words proves to warn,
That he not busy being born is busy dying.
(BD)

Ah, good, there’s something in my comments box – oh, it seems to be a piece of spam – it’s from someone called Hottest Naked Black Chick:
I don’t know even how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to be a famous blogger, if you are not already. Cheers!
Well, thank you Hottest Naked Black Chick, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, I thrive on encouragement, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

‘I’ll have a grande cappuccino please… I hear that you’ve recently been away…’
‘Yes, I was at the Caffe Nero staff weekend.’
‘Oh yes? How was it?’
‘Oh great!” I came third out of twenty baristas in the ‘remembering the customer’s order‘ competition, fourth in the ‘fast service‘, and second in the ‘chair dragging‘.’
“Chair dragging’? What’s that?’
‘It’s when we sweep up towards the end of the day and we drag the tables and chairs around over the wooden floor to do as much loud scraping and banging around as possible.’
‘Really?’
‘Yes, it’s to drive out the last lingering customers of the day, so we can get tidied up.’
‘And how did you do in that competition?’
‘I only came second, the other barista won because of her really unpredictable and exuberant dustpan rattling.’
‘Ah right…’

A single overheard remark:
‘My legs are for promotion!…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, colours, conversation, cool, creation, Dulltown, existentialism, history, humour, information, misheard, music, observations, overheard, poetry, serendipity, surrealism, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just a few titchy items…

  1. I read your colours up there and randomly thought of the name Julian. Then I couldn’t think of a colour that began with J……? How strange. And yes, I do believe that “Barista’s” DO have that kind of competition – what a noise they make. They also have the “Stand and stare” bit where they simply glare at you until you feel so uncomfortable you just have to move. (This is where I grumble and say things like “I don’t care if its after 6pm, I’m a paying customer!”) haha 😀

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    And the cool guy back then was singing:
    When you’re lost in the rain in Juarez and it’s Easter time too
    And your gravity fails and negativity won’t pull you through
    Don’t put on any airs when you’re down on Rue Morgue Avenue.
    They’ve got some hungry women there, they’ll really make a mess out of you.

    I know that Hottest Naked Black Chick. Don’t encourage her! It’ll end in tears ……

Leave a Reply

