Mail Art Postcard No. 4515…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: sponson, spondyl, spondulicks, spondee, sporophytic, sposh, and warragal. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor turn up in the guise of Genghis Khan and sporting a large stick-on black moustache you must not allow this to distract you from your studies.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

4515-dscn3763There’s nothing see here… move along now please… and you must not form a gawping unruly crowd… move along now please… see, it’s simply a happy pig with stick-on sad eyes having a nice swim… nothing to see here, please move along in a quiet manner… and you, put that phone away – no photography here!…
No, but really it’s just another of my silly mail art postcards, a simple collage using a couple of cuttings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
I don’t know how I managed to pick such a pair of tearful looking eyes for the grinning pig, I’m sure he/she was having a great time splashing about in the sea.
Still, I think the juxtaposition does aesthetically work rather well – I suppose it’s because the skin tones on the upset woman (TV actress) and the pig are a reasonable match. It’s a pretty gripping image isn’t it? It certainly draws the eye.  Me, I can’t stop staring at it… I’m gripped, and glued…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, composition, creation, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4515…

  1. I have never seen a swimming pig before – with or without new eyes. I never even knew they COULD swim! I do like the orange…..nice contrast! 🙂

  2. hollowjb says:

    Fun to look at. I get over-complicated and then enjoy pulling back and going so something so-called simple. But I rarely post them!

  3. junkmonkey says:

    Hello Dave,

    Isn’t the web/serendipity a wonderful thing? Only a couple of days ago I was wondering what happened to you – and lo! while looking for a Fanthorpe cover – there you are.

    Former Dulltown escapee. Liam

Leave a Reply

