That lino print…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s stoat is the one wearing a coat, on a boat, floating in a moat.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn4637Yes, at last it is done – an edition of 12 on nice thin Kizuki Japanese paper, (sheets cut to A4 size).
This is my third post about this piece. In the first one I showed you the early version of the pencil and ballpoint pen design sitting on a chair, half shaded-in, in front of my Pink Wall of Tat. It has changed a bit since then, some of the spiky mad shapes have been removed and some new ones have been added; I’m sure it looks a lot better now.
The second post featured the lino block (stuck on a piece of 3/4″ ply to keep it from misbehaving and flopping about) with the design marked out using carbon paper – actually after finishing the cutting of the block I did a test print (‘artist’s proof’?) and I thought that it didn’t look ‘quite right’, so when the print had dried I fiddled with it for a while with a white correction pen and changed and removed a few things; of course you can’t add anything black to the image, that has already been cut away, you can only add white to the design and then cut some more of the lino away.
Anyway here it is! I’m quite pleased with it. Is it crazy enough for you? Does it jump about enough?… You wouldn’t want to look at it if you had a headache though…

PS: Look at those parallel stripes in the middle of the print and in the corners. Do you see them as little flights of steps?… I do…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, creation, design, fine art prints, humour, information, instruction, lino cut printing, lino printing, prints, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to That lino print…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Steps on the road to nowhere…

  2. Love those steps! Its like the bridge up here that only just got finished in 2013 after staying like this since the 1970’s http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3795/9040637589_e6e3f744ac_h.jpg

  3. Jheron Bash says:

    Flights of steps, definitely. Funny how the bottom left looks the most like steps. I do like flights of steps. Look at my blog avatar (is that what it is? Maybe I’ll write a blog to go with it one day). This flight is in Amsterdam. I like that steps come in a “flight” particularly. Mind the step!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Yes, you’d think that the ‘flight’ would only be coming down ’em… Whoa!…
      Yes, the bottom left ones do work best – probably because there is something below them, whereas the upper ones look as if they are in mid air.

  4. Dana Doran says:

    Dave, my first thought when I saw your piece (which I hadn’t seen before) was that it was created by Keith Haring! It reminds me of a piece he created for Basquiat ….I think it was called a ‘Pile of Crowns?’ So very nice! My eye just keeps wandering around…

  5. Jheron Bash says:

    Very nice drop of Lino-cutting, by the way!

  6. twallisstone says:

    This looks great! Nice movement of design. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

