Mail Art Postcard No. 4503…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: garrulous, spadiceous,  interfascicular, knotty, scalene, and fruity.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

w-f-4503
Ah, creative serendipity! Yes, it’s another of my mail art postcards, a simple collage using cuttings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV (I always think that there should be a question mark on that, but there isn’t one.)
So, what do we have here?
Well, we have two cuttings, one the title of a programme on British 20th c. railways, and the other a couple of TV actors earnestly doing their stuff – I expect this is from some soap opera or drama series, but as I avoid such things I’m afraid I can’t tell you which one it might be – please don’t get in touch to tell me…
Hm, as I look at this picture I don’t think I’d like to watch these two for very long – you can feel the tension rising, and you know that there will be tears before bedtime! (TBB) No, not my kind of thing at all…
Actually, The Golden Age of Steam could of course relate directly to the photo – It might be the clever and meaningful title of some heavy relationship drama, perhaps a thick embossed cover best-seller novel adapted and serialised for television. Perhaps the man’s (let’s call him Lionel) preoccupation with steam locomotives of the 1930s is just a retreat from his turbulent marital relationship with, let’s call her Barbara, who is valiantly trying to keep their shaky wobbling marriage on the rails for the sake of their two almost grown up children despite her suspicions that Lionel might be secretly plunging them into debt, spending all their money on refurbishing a dilapidated signal box up on the Pennines where he often spends whole weekends. Barbara, though still caring for Lionel, has in desperation, begun seeking companionship and weekend warmth in the arms of Gwen the landlady of the popular Railway Inn down at the end of the street.
‘Damn it Lionel! You’ve even stopped bothering to shave! Your whole world is centred around bloody interlocking points and semaphore stop signals!’
‘Look Babs, It will eventually be okay, I promise… as soon as I get my rusty old levers working again, things will change, I…’
‘Ha! Your rusty levers! I’ve finally had enough!… I’m going down to the pub for a shandy…’
‘That’s right! That’s right!… Go!… Go!… Go to your…’
(Sound of door slamming.)
‘Now then, where did I put my copy of Railway Weekly?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, composition, conversation, drama, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, sex, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4503…

  1. Claudia says:

    I only recognize fruity…sigh…

Leave a Reply

