…and back to the lino printing…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s useless birthday present is a pair of tickets for a Mumford & Sons concert…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I suppose this picture is of what people call ‘work in progress’ or WIP – I have only come across ‘WIP’ recently – I’m not really up on modern arty jargon and acronyms – I obviously don’t mix with the right people.

dscn4648Yes, this is another photo of my workbench top.
Would you like me to tell you what these items are dear reader?
Well, obviously that in the centre is the lino block, it’s sitting on a piece of that rather useful non-slip spongy fabric (available quite cheaply from hardware shops – Wilkos have it). Directly above is the first test print done on a sheet of A4 copy paper – you can see marks and notes I have put on it showing where some adjustments have to be made before the serious printing can start – Oh, I do find cutting circles and curves so tricky!
On the right is a kitchen chopping board made of glass – yes, I know the coloured spots are a bit in your face, but you can’t seem to get plain ones. I use it to roll the ink out on (see pallette knife and  roller above), and I also use when doing my decalcomania prints. (decalcomania prints) And there’s a tube of ink; it is oil-based, I never found a water-based one that I liked – just not sticky enough for me! This is a very nice sticky oil-based one made by Speedball, a US company.
So, where are we now? Ah, on the left is a piece of A4 cardboard that I sometimes place over the paper when it’s on the inked block to give it a good first rub over with that strange-looking tool you see there. Now, what do you call the things that you rub the back of the paper onto the block with? Oh yes, they are called barens – what a strange word! Anyway, this is what I use; as you see it is made from an old desert spoon bent at 90 degrees, and with its handle taped to a piece of round wood to make it more comfortable to hold – I find that it works quite well.
I won’t talk about the print itself just yet, I’ll save that for when the edition of 12 or so are printed out on Japanese paper; I’ll put a clearer picture of it up for you, then I can drone on about its aesthetic qualities and its deep meaning for at least another half a page…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, creation, decalcomania, design, fine art prints, information, learning, lino printing, linocut tools, prints, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to …and back to the lino printing…

  1. Yes Barens is strange word – isn’t there a medical test something like that. Your DIY one is worthy of a place in that household book you blog about – can’t remember the name, shows I haven’t been paying attention. All you need now is a quip to go above it

  2. The linocut’s a beauty– love the capital A in there and all the floating angles or Ls. Another very helpful how-to. Especially that taped up dessert spoon! The wonderful photo wouldn’t be the same without the polka dots. I’m against plain cutting boards. Hmm. Maybe I will write in “a polka-dotted cutting board” when I vote on November 8th.

  3. Rebecca says:

    When I read your ‘how to’ posts, I hear lovely, calm Peter Jones being The Book in Hitchhiker’s… the mind is a strange thing. 🙂 . And I find I have ‘A’ envy.

  4. I first heard the term “WIP” in my accounting class that I took in the early days of my banking career. It has a couple of family members, “Finished goods” and “raw materials” and they all live together under the asset account “Inventory”. There, how about that! I like your baren very much, I have a commercially bought one now, but before that, I used a wooden spoon. I will be very interested to see how your print finishes up – I love its boldness and the clean lines of it.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you for your encouragement Claudia! Oh, I’m sure there are plenty of scary words like ‘Finished Goods’ and ‘Raw Materials’ in the world of banking – these two sound like they refer to people… No, no, I’m being far too cynical!…

Leave a Reply

