The latest linocut…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: cothurnus, cote-hardy, cottar, coticular, costrel, and beslubber. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor deliver the lesson in dark whispered Shakespearean tones you must listen carefully and not let this distract you from your studies.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn4674It comes in waves you know, well it does with me… Creativity that is.
Suddenly I’ll be mad keen on decalcomania prints, or spatter paintings, or charcoal drawings, or making wooden sculptures, or doing lino prints – yes, at the moment it’s lino prints. Whichever one it is I go at it like a bull at a gate and do new exciting things (well, exciting for me anyway) until I find that I’m running out of reasonable ideas and I’m in danger of just turning them out without much fun being had. Then I pause and wait for the next sloppy wave to turn up.
So, here I am in the middle of a lino printing wave, on the crest one might say.
A couple of days ago I showed you the block and the first tentative print of this one (click), and I promised to show you the finished item and then to woffle (waffle) on about it for a while – well here it is, and here I go…
Is it mad enough for you dear reader? And what about that letter ‘A’? Yes, it’s the ‘A’ from a set of very old thin metal stencils that someone once gave me – the sort of thing that chaps would use to put the destinations onto wooden packing crates, ‘Morocco’, ‘Sydney’, ‘San Francisco’, ‘Bahrain’, etc. – this will be the first time I have used them. Of course I didn’t do any actual stencilling, I just reversed the stencil and drew around it in pencil and later carefully cut the lino out – it is a very nice ‘A’, isn’t it?
‘Oh Dave, I seem to recognise those curly shapes on the right… they are so familiar, but I just can’t quite remember what…’
French curves! Plastic shapes that people used to use when they needed some elegant complex shapes in their technical drawing and design. Again, they were given to me a while back (possibly by the same person who gave me the stencils) and I have never used them before this rich visual escapade…
Now, here’s a question for you:
You see those two upside down L-shaped things inside the circles at the bottom? Well, do you see them as L-shaped things, or do you see them as little rectangular sunlit windows giving access to the insides of the cheeky white spheres? And also, can you, at will, make them flip between upside down ‘L’s and windows?… I’ll leave that with you…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, creation, design, humour, information, learning, lino printing, prints, seeing, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The latest linocut…

  1. Makes me feel happy to look at it. The Ls as broken picture frames. Keeps the eyes hopping around. Great!

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Well, you did ask. I see four very distinct planes of depth….those upside-down “l/s” serve the very important purpose of keeping those circles behind the first and closest plane…I expect that without them, the circles would be in the forefront and distract from the “A.” And, yes, it is a very nice “A.” I very much like the composition! On the fits and throws of artistic exuberances…..until yesterday it was almost 3 weeks without painting a stroke – I was excusing myself because of a painful foot/ankle sprain, but after putting the brush to canvas…it may have been a serious lack of ____________.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      I do love playing with my depths and my overlaps and things poking out from behind other things.
      Oh dear, sorry to hear about your sprain – I presume then that you must stand up to paint…
      “A serious lack of…”
      Hm…

  3. twallisstone says:

    Nice work! The contrasting shapes (curves and shape angles) makes this more interesting. Bravo!

  4. ktz2 says:

    I really like this !

  5. Gosh that curve really stands out. I adore this! And the two little L shapes look a bit like noses on eyeless faces. They are looking up at the large A.

Leave a Reply

