Spatter Painting No. 32…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: melancholy mauve, rib-tickling red, gaunt green, puckering pink, brutal beige, and torpid tan.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

It seems like ages since I last caught your attention, grabbed you by the wrist, drew you in, and forced you to look at one of my spatter paintings dear reader. Now, stand still, pay attention and stop fidgeting! See, look here, how about this one?…

spatter-32-29-x-21Spatter Painting No. 32. Fluorescent acrylic paint and spidery black ink on watercolour paper, about 29″ x 21″.

Oh, what fun this is to do!
Who wouldn’t enjoy chucking sloppy bright colours around on a sheet of thick expensive good quality paper? As you see I let Mother Gravity help me a lot with this composition – how do you like our rivulets? See how she makes them run upwards, obviously I could have had this painting the other way up with the drips coming down, but I thought that it would be more ‘optimistic’ and positive in this orientation; do you think they might look like sprouting fecund plants slithering upwards, seeking sunlight?
As you see this is one of those ‘spatters’ where I used a round tin pie dish and a block of wood as masking to leave those relatively unspattered geometric white shapes; they do seem to be more like ‘objects’ in the composition rather than just blank areas don’t they?
Anyway, there it is. I think I could live with this on my living room wall – ah, the natural intricacies of serendipity, you’d never get bored with all that fine detail, you couldn’t construct all this yourself, could you? Nature does the thing for you with such a carefree but confident hand…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, creation, information, painting, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spatter Painting No. 32…

  1. Oh I do like this lots! Very cheery and bright. And hello 🙂

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Oh Dave…..I see something completely different….which I why I ponder clouds, and abstract art……it appears to me as if your Bunsen burner has caught fire! Funny how those drippy lines obscure the juxtaposition of angles against a circle…..

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, just after first reading your comment I felt I had to nip down into my secret underground laboratory – and sure enough, I found that I had left my Bunsen burner blazing away… Phew!…

Leave a Reply

