One or two smallish items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s Sir Arthur Conan Doyle quotation is from The Hound of the Baskervilles:
Watson:
For a moment or two I sat breathless, hardly able to believe my ears. Then my senses and voice came back to me, while a crushing weight of responsibility seemed in an instant to be lifted from my soul. The cold, incisive, ironical voice could belong to but one man in all the world.
‘Holmes!’ I cried – ‘Holmes!’
‘Come out,’ said he, ‘and please be careful with that revolver.’
I stooped under the rude lintel, and there he sat upon a stone outside, his grey eyes dancing with amusement as they fell upon my astonished features…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuse for being late. No. 309.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to give my canopic jars a good dusting. (CJ)

A single overheard remark:
‘So, was it a naxident?…

‘A Mormon in your life that you never forget…’
‘Eh?… Hang on, ‘Mormon’, didn’t you mean to say ‘moment’?’
‘Eh?… Oh, yes… Yes… of course! Oh, did I say Mormon? How very silly of me, how could I have possibly…’
‘Hm, I think I know what you are trying to tell me…’

An observation:
A very cool looking, slim, well dressed black dude walking through town – his style was enhanced by the way he shrugged his shoulders with every other step he took – so stylish…

Hull – UK City of Culture 2017:
Now, just to make things clear, we don’t do ‘culture’ very well here in Hull, but we are spending a shitload of money buying some in from people who do.
It will be great! Welcome dear visitor!…

So, you see, artists in society should be just like the quantum world is in physics – irrational, mad, buzzing, unpredictable, and a bit upsetting, but vital to life and existence.

‘Now, let’s just…’
‘Hey!’
‘Sorry, but I wanted to avoid that strum strum la la la busker with the guitar.’
‘But the street isn’t that wide, you’ll still hear him over here on this side.’
‘Yes, but physics.’
‘Physics?’
‘Yes, the inverse square law of sound propagation.’
‘Eh?’
‘It mean s that doubling the distance between us and the strummer reduces the volume to a quarter of what it would be if we were right in front of him.’
‘Not a half then?’
‘No, a quarter…’
‘Hm, that’s worth knowing.’
‘Indeed it is…’

A single overheard remark:
‘There was a verdigris fly in my home!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, books, brain, conversation, cool, Dulltown, fashion, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, observations, overheard, physics, religion, science, serendipity, surrealism, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One or two smallish items…

  1. Verdigris? I had to look that up. Fancy word for not a pleasant thing, ha!

Leave a Reply

