Mail Art Postcard No. 4609…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s architectural term is Estipite: A type of pilaster tapering towards the base, extensively used in Spanish post-Renaissance architecture. I had some estipite pilasters in my posh withdrawing room, but I didn’t get on with all that silly tapering nonsense and I had them chiselled off and replaced with proper normal everyday pilasters.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

4609Bloody hell!
No no, keep calm dear reader, it’s just a bit of fun – this is called surrealism
Yes, it is one of my recent mail art postcards – a simple collage using images cut or carefully ripped from magazines. The upper one in this piece of work came from a surprisingly expensive glossy magazine I bought from W H Smith just to cut up for its images – it was a nice one, full of pictures of interesting animals and fish – here featured is one of the fish, well, I think it’s a fish… Oh, it must be, what else could it be?
But gosh, look at those lips! They look so human don’t they?…
‘Tommy! Tommy!…’
‘What is it?’
‘I know you love your comfy new expensive recliner chair, but you said that today you’d go outside and poke the muck out of our air bricks before the cold weather sets in…’
‘Oh, Vera, I was having such a lovely dream… A lovely giant fish was hovering above me, she was telling me interesting stories of underwater life, and plankton, and sunken galleons, and coral and… you should have seen her lips Vera…’
‘Tommy! Get out of that chair this minute, here’s a kneeling mat, and an old knitting needle – go outside and get poking!…’

The other day, instead of making these cards on the sofa with the TV on as I usually do, I thought that it would be less messy to do it on the bench in my little workshop/studio. After doing a few cards I got up to go to make a cup of tea and as I glanced down I thought that the spread of cuttings and stuff on the bench might make a nice photograph…

dscn4650

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, architecture, art, brain, composition, dreaming, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4609…

  1. Oh, I really like the scrap photo (also the main one – very surreal) but I laughed at the position of the words “Buy one get one free…agony…horror” Yes, there is nothing worse than those offers when one is on a strict budget!! Also, regarding collage art, I’m discovering that you can add eyes to anything and it looks weirdly real…..!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh yes, eyes are such a powerful image, they are great for moving around and trying on all sorts of things – us humans are just so programmed to notice them and read things into them. What fun!…

  2. Dana Doran says:

    oh, the horror of a leather lined divorce! I do love your postcard….it reminded me to inquire, are you familiar with the names Sabine Stroheim or Griffin Moss?

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Characters from a book based on postcards and letters….now there, I’ve ruined the investigation. Don’t they sound “famous?” The artist for the book, not sure whether it was the author (or not?) created some mighty fine work with fish….which was the memory trigger. The books were called Griffin and Sabine (Bantock)

  4. ktz2 says:

    ‘Me and my Fish . . l dream of my Fish’. . . haha

Leave a Reply

