The Hilary/Beefheart rhythm riff butter dream…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s elephant in the room is the one ranting on about giraffes coming over here and taking our jobs…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Isn’t butter great?
Of course health-wise it’s pretty good for you, but it’s probably best not to eat too much of it. But then again, freshly made toast with yellow slabs of butter slowly shrinking and dissolving into it – who can resist that?…
As an occasional treat I do buy a pack of butter every couple of months or so, and, having a sneaky streak of gluttony in me, I easily get through the whole pack in a couple of days. Last night was the close of one of those days – really I suppose those slices of hot buttered midnight toast were just comfort food, to cheer myself up a bit after the locally based Dulltown internet service provider had decided to arbitrarily unplug everybody’s web for a few hours…
12.45 am: But Dave (I told myself), it’s no good going to bed now, with a stomach full of buttery toast, you’d better stay up for a while until your system deals with your foolish excesses. I ended up sitting in my little workshop listening to BBC World Service radio and chiselling away at my latest lino block, a non-abstract one this time, but I’ll save talk of that for future post.
So, I finally retired to my bed at 3.15 am and quickly dozed off…
I am sitting at a bar, the bar stool is unusually high, my feet are dangling free… this isn’t a pub though Dave, it seems to be a brightly lit glassy cafe. The woman behind the bar is pale, roundy-faced, blonde, and with a fixed teeth-visible smile, I think it might be Hillary Clinton, but I could be wrong – no, but I’m sure she is a musician, and a singer, she plays the guitar too, somehow I know that. We are chatting, I have an unusually large bright white cup in front of me containing pale tan tea. I am saying how much better their cafe is than the nearby, and much lower down, art gallery. Hillary glances upwards towards the loudspeakers up on the wall – there is music playing. It pauses, and then a new track kicks off. It has a very interesting rhythm to it, I ignore what Mrs Clinton is saying to me, and concentrate on the pulse of the music – I am gripped! It seems to have two separate beats going on at once – how very clever! They knit together, but are also strangely at odds with each other. Who is this? Is this your band? She says that it isn’t. I ask if she could have a look at the disc and tell me who the band is, but she says that it’s not on a disc at all, and that it is just ‘in the air’. I want to tap my feet but I can’t because my legs are just hanging from the high stool. The two rhythms are in different time signatures, one is in a straight 4/4 and the other is a syncopated shuffle – you can’t mix the two you know, well not at the same time. Hillary is still smiling – she says one of them is the riff from Sue Egypt by Captain Beefheart from the 1980s, and the other, isn’t… perhaps I have heard it recently, but no… I really must try to remember those two startlingly novel interlocking rhythms… later… when I wake up… wake up – my feet are tapping now, but floppily noiselessly against the bed linen… must hold onto the tune… Da-da, Di-da-da, Da-daa-daa Daa! – Da-da, Di-da-da, Da-daa-daa Daa! now, but how does the Dat da-da, Dat da-da, Dat da-da, fit over the top of it? – Perhaps when I wake up, I’ll spring out of bed and go and play the cd – Sue Egypt, Sue Egypt, it is a strange one – and hum the second beat over the top… What time is it now?… I wonder if the internet is back on? I hope so, have a fairly good dream post to share with the world first thing… after a cup of tea of course…

Sue Egypt.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, creation, dreaming, existentialism, food, humour, information, music, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Hilary/Beefheart rhythm riff butter dream…

  1. Gosh I want some of that butter! Also I liked that Captain Beefheart! Nothing better on a rainy Sunday afternoon šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

