A sharp-edged linocut 2016…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s special adjectives are: curly, afflated, aeruginous, orgulous, zigzaggy, rabbity, and stertorous. Hm, I think zigzaggy is probably the best one out of this bunch – it doesn’t sound like a real word does it? It’s like something a cute child might make up…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

w-f-dscn4634-version-twoHere’s another fairly recent linoprint of mine; as usual it is on nice (roughly A4 size) thin Japanese paper and printed in lovely dense black Speedball oil-based ink.
Jagged isn’t it? Would you say zigzaggy? Probably not, it is jagged, but not quite zigzaggy enough to confidently apply the term… Crunchy is a good word – but no, I don’t think so – crunchy implies that you could throw a handful of blueberries and nuts on it, splash on some cold milk straight out of the fridge, and have it as a breakfast cereal… Hm, you know, I’m starting to feel a bit peckish…
What do you think of the sky? Is it a sky at all? Who knows? If it was, it would seem to be full of midnight crystalline snowflakes – perhaps this could do as this year’s Christmas card?
And what about those rectangular notches in the ends of the, of those, angular bent things? What on earth can they be for? Ah, perhaps you see them as mouths – yes, that’s what they are! I hadn’t realised until now – they are mouths!…
I expect some smart-arse arty person will suggest that I am depicting the first curious molecules of life arising and poking their little heads out from the primordial mud, with the stars sparkling in the sky above, predicting life’s inevitable move into the far reaches of deep space, and the eventual…
Oh, I’m fed up with this! I think I have typed enough twaddle about this for the time being…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, creation, design, dreaming, fine art prints, humour, information, lino cut printing, lino printing, seeing, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A sharp-edged linocut 2016…

  1. When I first saw this, I thought of Christmas right away. How odd that you mentioned it halfway down. To me this looks like mountains in a snowy scene, and the angular bent shapes are surreal trees. Funny how we always try to make sense of things and put them into recognisable schemas, hmm…but its lovely, I like it. 🙂

  2. ktz2 says:

    I like it too. I got a sense of mountains and a starry night sky

  3. Dana Doran says:

    I think it is a Christmas card…..those vertical thingy’s are camel legs racing over the terrain with a starry background!

Leave a Reply

