Thanks for coming…

But first…
Dulltown UK: Today’s Sir Arthur Conan Doyle quotation is from The Adventure of the Illustrious Client:
Watson:
Both Holmes and I had a weakness for the Turkish bath. It was over a smoke in the pleasant lassitude of the drying-room that I have found him less reticent and more human than anywhere else…
I asked him whether anything was stirring, and for answer he had shot his long, thin, nervous arm out of the sheets which enveloped him and had drawn an envelope from the inside pocket of the coat which hung beside him.
“It may be some fussy, self-important fool; it may be a matter of life or death,” said he as he handed me the note.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn4287Dulltown, UK: Yes this, as you well know by now, is how I start my daily blog post – the place I live is actually Kingston Upon Hull (‘Hull’ being the name of the river, Kingston (King’s Town) being the place upon the river), a city in the East Riding of Yorkshire, commonly known just as Hull. So, why do I constantly refer to the place as Dulltown?
Well, I don’t know really; perhaps it is because I hate the idea of being proud of the place you happen to have been born – it is like being proud of your race, or being proud of being tall, or fat, or proud of having a large moustache. These generally are just things which are thrust on us, that we have had no part or choice in, apart from getting fat, or growing an enormous moustache of course, but each to their own; we are all just humans after all, and we can do good things which we can be proud of, but perhaps we shouldn’t be going around with t-shirts printed with things like, ‘ull and Proud!, or Fuck off we’re from ‘ull! or Hull’s not shit anymore! (I quite like the irony of that one). So, I suppose referring to the place ‘Dulltown’ is me just trying to distance myself from all that civic pride nonsense, it’s just an ordinary town, like any other in Britain.

What about this photo then Dave?
Well Dulltown, er, Hull, has for some reason been chosen to be the UK City of Culture 2017. Currently millions of pounds are being spent on digging up and renewing the pavements and pedestrian areas in the whole of the city centre as part of the preparations for the year of festivities. It is taking a full year to complete; the city centre is a giant noisy dusty building site, fenced off with thousands of orange plastic barriers, there are temporary ramps, narrow walkways, trucks and diggers moving about, busy hi-vis jackets, hardhats, and general confusion everywhere.
So, as I was trying to navigate to my favourite cafe (the available routes change almost daily) one day last March, my eye was caught by this interesting montage – I liked the way that they had put up a large image of the City Hall printed on plastic in line with the front of the actual City Hall. It was one of those, Oh look, shall I take a picture of this? moments.
I did. Click!… Thanks for coming… You’re welcome!
What about the composition? I think it’s alright, and that red and white ‘no entry’ sign on the right does balance the bright orange plastic stuff in the foreground nicely, don’t you think? It’s not an ‘easy on the eye’ composition, but I do quite like it, and it pretty well sums up the feel of the city at the moment…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, books, colours, composition, Dulltown, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, style, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks for coming…

  1. I was amused that the “Thank you for coming” sign was in front of the No Entry sign. As if the red barrier fence was as far as you could get. “Right thats it, you’ve had a look. This poster is what it looks like so thanks for coming, turn around now, and be on yer way” kind of idea. Very interesting photo 😀

Leave a Reply

