Just a few titchy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s expletive is Sbud! – a rather nice condensed form of S’Blood! or God’s Blood! I think I might try to slip Sbud into all of my conversations today.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 310.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I seem to have mislaid my fragment of the true cross.

A single overheard remark:
‘I saw saxophrage on the shop floor…’

If the people running the BBC really want to attract more viewers and listeners to their news bulletins, perhaps instead of giving the daily stock market prices and currency exchange rates, they should feature the cost and best current deals on: supermarket lager, cannabis, take-away pizza, snack food, and similar popular items?

An observation:
Four schoolgirls walking through the bus station: they all had long straight light brown hair hanging more than a foot down their backs, the four lengths were virtually identical. Perhaps the girls are engaged in a long running hair growing competition?

‘You know, you definitely have a very nice way with worms…’
‘Words?…’
‘Oh, yes, words!… Of course…’

I suppose it is an attempt at ‘clever and innovative’ design…
The saucers they have in Costa Coffee shops are a bit wider than normal and have the circular depression where the cup sits placed off to one side; I suppose it is so that there is space for you to place a biscuit or some other small item of confectionery alongside your beverage instead of bothering with a separate plate; but then, I don’t think I have ever seen anyone take advantage of this feature. Picking up one’s cup and having a drink is fine, but when one is putting one’s cup back on the saucer, one inevitably tends to subconsciously aim for the centre of the white circular shape off to one side of your vision, especially if you are engaged in reading, or even writing something – clunk, tilt, coffee turbulence, possible spillage, expletive…

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Lee King-Pype.

A single overheard remark:
‘No, Paul, you do not thin the atmosphere…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, conversation, cool, design, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, serendipity, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

