Stella is sniffy about a colour…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: arcanum, spondyl, moufflon, waldflute, ianthine, and gru-gru. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor fail to appear the class will be conducted by Mrs Mouldie – your fingers and nails should scrupulously clean and you must smile unflaggingly for the full duration of the lesson.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn1672Landscape No. 55. Pastel on paper about 24″ x 18″. (1994)

‘Alright!… Alright!… There’s no need to try to play tunes on my doorbell!… Oh, it’s you… you quasi-Stella object!’
‘What?…’
‘Oh never mind, it was a sort of astronomical joke Stella.’
‘Hm… hilarious I’m sure! Is it a pun of some sort?’
‘Probably… How are you today?’
‘You can skip the pleasantries, just get the kettle on, I want Taylor’s of Harrogate Yorkshire Tea, in a big mug! What interesting biscuits do you have today David?’
‘Look, Stella, everyone else calls me ‘Dave’, I don’t see why you always…’
‘What’s this? There’s far too much green in it… I don’t like green!’
‘You don’t like green?… How can you say that? It’s one the primary colours Stella, there’s plenty of it around in the world you know.’
‘Well it is, and it isn’t David.’
‘Is and isn’t what?’
‘Primary – it depends whether you are talking light, or actually mixing pigments – and now that you have the kettle boiling let’s talk confectionery – what do you have on offer this morning? I had only a modest breakfast, I’m starving!’
‘Oh, yes, I see, magenta and cyan, and…’
‘Biscuits David!…’
‘Oh right, well, how about ginger nuts, dark chocolate digestives, and…’
‘This isn’t like you at all, it’s almost cheerful! A glowing city seemingly filled with parks and pleasant areas, none of your usual darkness and negativity here, it is so optimistic! Were you in love at time?…’
‘Well, I er… Look Stella, here’s your tea, and do have a choc-digestive or two, they are quite fresh, the packet was opened only…’
‘Rose tinted spectacles I think…’
‘Eh?…’
‘Look at the canted horizon, and all that polychrome enthusiasm radiating into the sky – I see you have both the cheerful sun and the ringed moon hanging there – you know, speaking of astronomy, as we were earlier, that that is impossible!’
‘This is art Stella, not… did you just say ‘polychrome enthusiasm’?’
‘Perhaps this is a spiritual ‘city upon a hill’ David…’
‘A what? I don’t think so…’
‘My, these dark choc digestives are rather good, you should get them in more often.’
‘Should I Stella?…’

D C D.

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, conversation, food, humour, information, painting, science, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stella is sniffy about a colour…

  1. Rebecca says:

    I like it very much – and I think x marks the spot, too. ‘You are here’? 🙂

  2. Shammy says:

    D C D beats M C C D any day!

  3. I like how you clarified the chocolate digestives for everyone by pointing a link. Now I really want a biscuit! Milky ones would be nice…. 🙂 And I’m with Stella on this one…city on a hill. Thats what it looks like!

  4. Dana Doran says:

    I always hesitate to say, “I love it” when it comes to art….it doesn’t seem like an adequate response given the fact that artists put so much of themselves into their work, to reduce it to three words….but, I love it!

Leave a Reply

