Avenger-Trek on the TV…

But first…
Dulltown UK: Today’s heraldic term is ‘pale’ – a vertical band down the centre of a shield. By the way, the ancient arms of the City of Dulltown are emblazoned thus: Azure three ducal coronets in pale or. [Azure (blue) being the colour of the shield, and or (gold) being the colour of the crowns.] Click.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, early evening, I sit down in front of the TV with my evening meal, it’s a nice curry with lots of vegetables; let’s see what there is available to watch as I munch away. Oh look, there’s an episode of the 1960s series The Avengers on one channel and an episode of the original 1960s Star Trek on another, I’m sure I will have seen both of them before, but they are equally classy and stylish, I think I could stand to watch either of them again – oh, I know, I think that I might flick between channels and watch both of them at once!… Hm, these parsnips are very nice…

‘Captain’s log, Stardate 2715.1…’
‘We stumbled onto something big Mrs Peel.’
‘This is a particularly violent case Captain.’
‘Well, I never!…’
‘Security alert, condition three!’
‘Just sign here please sir.’
‘Arghhh!… Kirk out!’
‘There may be a bit of a hue and cry!’
‘I’ll destroy your control panel!’
‘Good morning dear lady!’
‘Abnormal? Of course Jim…’
‘B. Bumble at your service!’
‘An experimental beam?…’
‘What? Breakfast toast for a whole year?…’
‘Well Bones, you are on the ball!’
‘Would you like tea?’
‘In the science Lab?…’
‘Capital, excellent! Excuse me Mr Steed…’
‘Energise!… Energise!…’
‘How very remiss of me!’
‘I feel naked without a weapon Doctor.’
‘It just rings a bell in the cellar sir.’
‘It was malignant – hateful!…’
‘Like a chief eunuch in a harem?’
‘Fill them with love and warmth Jim.’
‘Well, Mrs Peel!…’
‘I do not require the neural neutraliser!’
‘What? And nobody gets hurt?’
‘Whaaa!… Whaaa!…’
‘A jar of honey Mr Steed?’
‘The beam is from above!…’
‘And are you concealed in there?’
‘You will forget all that you have heard…’
‘Up you pop Mrs Peel, Get a firm grip…’
‘Mr Spock, that is excellent!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in conversation, cool, drama, food, heraldry, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, serendipity, Star Trek, style, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Avenger-Trek on the TV…

  1. Oh dear I remember both 60s versions and I got two gold stars for heraldry in second form.

  2. Gosh now, heraldry – well Scotland seems to adorn itself with animals….the royal coat of arms of Scotland has unicorns and/or lions https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_coat_of_arms_of_Scotland, and Glasgow has fish http://www.theglasgowstory.com/image/?inum=TGSA05045. Renfrewshire has a boat. Not terribly imaginative. http://www.ngw.nl/heraldrywiki/index.php?title=Renfrewshire

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, I love those slithery looking fish on the Glasgow one! And I quite like the Renfrewshire arms too – I like ones that are relatively simple.
      I don’t really know much about heraldry, but I do have a big colourful ‘coffee table’ book on it. Oh, and no, I don’t actually have a coffee table…

      • Perhaps you have a tea table instead? And yes, simple is always best – although can you imagine back in the day when shields were all the rage, and everyone trying to outdo each other on the splendour of such items! There would never be any wars, mind you – everyone would just be wandering around going “oh I DO like yours, yes, very pretty” πŸ˜€

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Hm, I think escutcheon envy would be rife – and cause no end of trouble…
        No, no tea table…

      • My goodness! What a word for a Friday morning – I had to look it up! Its a fine word indeed. Hmm, tables can be annoying I agree. Best keep it minimal, otherwise all manner of things end up on it (she says looking at the fruit bowl, 4 books, a watch, dog lead……)

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I don’t think I have an actual table in the house… A workbench, a folding wallpapering table, a shelf-thing in the kitchen… no, no proper tables at all…

      • Well I would say that the ones you have, are “proper” tables, since you use them for the intended purpose. Coffee tables and telephone tables are just dumping grounds for everything BUT their intended purpose (in my house anyway. My telephone is jostling for space amidst 4 candles, a lamp, and a bowl for keys)

      • Dave Whatt says:

        A bowl of keys eh?… My word, you must have a lot of locks…

      • Haha! No, its supposed to be for keys but it has receipts, a few boiled sweets, a green paw shaped light for the dogs collar, and two pencils for jotting down numbers. I really need a junk drawer…..do you have one of them? Bet you do. πŸ™‚

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I can just picture it!…
        Junk drawer… Hm, I have fairly neatly organised drawers, but I do have a ‘junk room’ though, now that IS a mess!

      • Ah…yes….*ahem* I have one of them too. BUT its tidy organised junk, so I suppose thats alright. πŸ™‚

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Yes, indeed, you are allowed that dear Scribbler.

  3. ktz2 says:

    Star Trek: ‘Bones’- Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor, not a magician !
    I’m Not a Trekkie, that is, not obsessed, but the original show was fun and I always remembered that line for some reason

    • Dave Whatt says:

      I’m not a Trekkie either, but I can always watch the re-runs.
      What strikes me is that all the characters are interesting and not over good-looking as such people would be these days…

Leave a Reply

