Some small but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s Victorian pseudo-expletive is Therewith! This is the sort of thing that prim chaps in those days used to come out with when avoiding the use of vulgar common oaths. I have no idea where this one comes from and my little book of swearing doesn’t suggest anything either.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 312.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was poking my air bricks out with a pencil.

An observation:
Oh look, the bus driver, sitting in her bus waiting to set off from the Interchange, is eating a gingerbread teddy bear.

A single overheard remark:
‘The manager of shaped fruit?…’

‘Ottawa… In Canada?…’
‘Yes?’
‘I always thought, by the sound of it, that it was in Japan…’
‘No…’

But back in the good old days you used to get slugs on your lettuce, and if you were lucky, the odd tarantula on your bananas…

One of the cafes I go in is on the ground floor of a large department store; it has large windows, about ten feet wide and seven feet high which look out onto a busy street. They are proper old-style shop windows made of thick plate-glass.
If you sit in a corner seat by one of these windows (yes, I am sitting there as I write this) and look out, you can detect a small flaw, a bump, in the middle of the otherwise perfect pane. If you move your head about a bit you can cause the visual distortion produced to ‘Photoshop’ the heads and faces of the people walking past, the effects are rather like those available in a fairground ‘hall of mirrors’. What fun! I must remember to sit here again…

‘Just look at that greedy little boy – he’s stealing food from the plates of the other children!…’
‘Yes, that’s our son, he’s going to be a banker when he grows up…’

Now then, what’s this? Aha, another item of spam in my comments box. This one seems to be from someone called nfl jerseys:
and follow the pins or boards of people they know of simply have similar interest with.After critical. If you desire to be successful, then in order to realize your goals, you must tastes to work with the trend so you look and feel comfortable. To accomplish these tasks,
Well, thank you nfl jerseys, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

A single overheard snatch of conversation – man on a mobile phone in the street:
‘Enquiries… Enquiries… No… Enquiries!… E, N, Q, U, I, R, I, E, S… Enquiries!… Hello?… Hello?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, history, humour, information, money, observations, overheard, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, swearing, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some small but pithy items…

  1. Your little book of swearing sounds fun! And regarding the bumpy window….does it work the other way I wonder? As in the passers by glance in and see a giant wobbly eyeball staring back at them……? šŸ˜€

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Working the other way? I never thought of that!…
      By the way, the ‘swearing book’ is ‘Bozzimacoo: Origins and Meanings of Oaths and Swearwords’ by Mary Marshall (1975).

  2. ktz2 says:

    Pithy is a great odd word, I recall looking up ‘pith helmet’ the first time I saw it when I was a kid. You just don’t see ‘pith’ or ‘pithy’ enough nowdays!

  3. ktz2 says:

    A thing I wonder about is the origin of various words, their first use. Not the ‘derived from the ancient Greek/Esperanza’etc–but the one person who said ‘I’m naming this thing such-and-such’. It was one person, one time, then it got repeated, then more, until it was widespread that this thing was –. Then you have your verbs, and adverbs, etc . ..oh my.
    The noise words were easy–pop, boom, splat, slam, thud, crack, and so forth.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well onomatopoeia nicely takes care of pop, splat, thud, etc.
      I suppose it all started with grunts – some cave-person one day tripped over a stone and in pain exclaimed, ‘Phutt!’… or even ‘Foot!’…

  4. ktz2 says:

    I happened to just come across this video on language randomly, interesting. It’s got some great obsolete words. I split the url so it woulndn’t automatically place the video here. So if you want to see just join the 2 parts of the url.
    ‘How far back in time could you go and still understand English?’
    https://youtu.be/8fxy 6ZaMOq8

Leave a Reply

