She’s much better with red eyes…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s pithy album title is Killdozer’s Intellectuals are the Shoeshine Boys of the Ruling Elite. (click) (click also)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The other day as I was dusting my knickknacks I thought that I would give the frames of the pieces on my Pink Wall of Tat a bit of a flick with a duster too, they certainly needed it. As I was dealing with the intricate moulded plastic frame of my Mona Lisa it occurred to me that I should perhaps feature the work in a blog post – I have probably mentioned it before, but that was a long time ago and I might be able to get away with rambling on about it again.
The Pink Wall of Tat is simply my collection of bad paintings, popular 1970s prints, and unpleasant oddities picked up in junk shops – and yes the wall is pink, but pink is only a colour after all and there is no need to remark on my having a pink wall…
Now then, I bought my Mona Lisa ‘as new’ from one of those shops full of bright plastic statuettes and gaudy prints that sprang up briefly about ten or twenty years ago – as soon as I spotted her, I wanted her, everyone should have a Mona Lisa on their home or office wall – she is such a familiar image, she is a rock of stability and a visual comfort in this mean-spirited shaky world of ours.
Of course after a week or two of looking at her, I felt that I need to make her my own in some way – just like Marcel Duchamp did when he put a moustache on her in 1919.
After some thought I decided that I should simply replace her eyes with a couple of red LED lights which could be switched on and off with a small switch discreetly installed in her frame at the bottom. When switched off the painting looks quite normal, but when they are on, well…

dscn4690Yes, I know it’s pretty silly, but I don’t care… I like it!
‘Is it art Dave?’ I hear you ask.
Yes, probably… It doesn’t really matter one way or the other though does it?
Oh, and shall we have another look at the PWOT while we are on the subject?

DSCN4470

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, cool, humour, information, irony, painting, Pink Wall of Tat, seeing, style, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She’s much better with red eyes…

  1. Oh yes, the red eyes are very fetching! That was actually quite clever how you did that, well done!

  2. Shammy says:

    Magnificent collection of Tat, especially Ms Lisa. You should come to some of the garage sales and auctions that I occasionally frequent….. you’d be able to cover every wall in your house, pink or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

