One or two short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown,UK: Today’s ancient Egyptian god, with the pointed beard and horned helmet, often seen holding a cedar tree, is Baal – he has associations with the sky and storms. (Baal)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 313.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was colour-coding my screwdrivers with sticky tape.

A single overheard remark:
‘I had ten months of believing!…’

A misheard item from the TV news:
‘Later we’ll be covering President Obama in grease…’
Ah… Greece!… He’s visiting Greece…

‘He was a bass droiver…’
‘A what?’
‘A bass droiver…’
‘Do you mean a bus driver?’
‘That’s what I said!’
‘Are you a cockney?’
‘What of it?…’

Oh good, another item of spam in my comments box – this one seems to be from someone called Dan sites:
I think this is among the most important info for me.
And i’m glad reading your article, But wanna remark on a few general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : Good job, cheers
Well, thank you Dan sites, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope that you will get in touch again soon.

A middle-aged man lurking down an alley off the main road, he was sheltering from the pouring rain and also shouting down his phone:
‘I’m telling you the truth, I can’t scream any louder!… No no no!… I’m telling you the truth… The truth!… I can’t scream any fucking louder!…’
I think the chap assumed that the perceived veracity of his statements would be in direct proportion to the volume of his speech.

Yes, I ‘m thinking of changing my name to Amber Rain-Warning.

‘Come on Dave! Kemp your hair!…’
‘No, I won’t, you know I like it unkempt!…’

A single overheard remark:
‘They don’t have electrical people!…’

 

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, brain, colours, conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, phones, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One or two short but pithy items…

  1. Electrical people? Hmm, that would be robots then. I’m not a fan of robots, to be honest……

  2. ktz2 says:

    Some goodies here. . Electric people! and I’m guessing the ’10 months of believing’ was a woman talking about discovering some man’s true colors.

    I’m always amused by the spam of fake compliments raving about the important things I wrote about, when the posts have little or no text at all.. haha. . .Some spammers apparently have reference sheets for English passages of text to include, randomly, which seem to be from C-grade paperback novels, for a tangle of ridiculous nonsense, before plugging the stupid spam link. (WP does great for blocking, they’ve stopped literally thousands !)

    • Dave Whatt says:

      To me they all sound as if they are really bad translations, or that they are generated by software, by, as you say, pinching sentences from other sources…
      I really do like them when they are complete gibberish.

  3. ktz2 says:

    p.s. pith pith pith

Leave a Reply

