Perhaps I have too much time on my hands?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s baboon is the one dozing off in his seat during a debate in the House of Lords.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Warning! You may find the following rather long, and possibly a bit dull dear reader…

Watches…
I think I have talked about watches before on these pages. Watches are very cleverly made things; they used to be extremely expensive and only the very rich could afford them, but now, being mass-produced with quartz technology, they are very cheap and everyone can have one; one with the accuracy which would be marvelled at fifty years ago.
They are of course, just things to tell you the time, an everyday object – but many people still see them as being ‘precious’ and spend lots of money on them as ‘jewelry’ – not me though, I’m not impressed by expensive watches…
The £12 Timex I bought many many years ago has, over the last couple of weeks, started to fail – but it has done very well over the years, and I certainly have no complaints. Yes, it was time to get a replacement.
The one I bought was a black-faced Limit for £9.99 – a very nice looking thing with a navy blue leatherish strap. The old Timex had one of those elasticated metal straps which you just slip over your hand – so easy to put on. I found that buckling the new leatherish strap a bit fiddly and time-consuming, and I wished the Limit had an ‘expanding’ strap like the old one…
Bright idea 1: Take the metal strap off the old watch and put it on the new one! Of course!…
Ah, look – at the ends of the Timex strap there are curved bits added to fit the shape of the watch case, which won’t quite work with the Limit. Remove those curved bits! See, one comes off easily with a bit of snipping and filing, and the other… oh, I’ve broken off the tube-like thing where the attaching pin goes through! Damn!… Best throw the thing away in the rubbish bin – pity, I was quite enjoying tinkering with it…
Bright idea 2: Buy a new ‘expanding’ metal strap for the new watch – Oh, they don’t seem to sell those anymore, but there are some nice stainless steel mesh ones – very attractive! – they obviously just clip together in a simple and easy way  – I’ll  send off to Amazon for one of those – only £9.99!
The new one came without any instructions on how to adjust the length, but there was a funny little pointy tool included, which was obviously intended for that purpose – Oh dear, the little tool bent as soon as I tried to use it!  I fiddled about for an hour and finally, by trial and error, discovered the idea on how the adjustment was done.
Good there we are! Now attach it to the new watch – oh, very nice! Oh, it is very awkward to clip together and put on though. Click, ah, that’s it, it does feel quite comfortable… Oh… the clip has spontaneously come undone and the watch has fallen onto the floor! Hm…
Sent it back to Amazon…
I suppose, if I buy another one of a different make, it might be just as bad a this one, they are probably all made in the same factory in China. I know, I’ll fish the old strap out of the rubbish bin and see if I can repair it – I have a free afternoon…
Now, what can I use to replace the missing ‘tube-like’ thing that I broke off earlier? Where can one get a piece of very thin metal tube? A Thin Metal Tube Shop? No… What about that ‘handy magnet on the end of a chrome telescopic extending thing that looks like a pen’ that I bought in the ‘£1 section’ of the supermarket? Yes, if I carefully saw a short length of tubing off and glue it to the end of the strap with epoxy resin two-pack adhesive, that should work fine… I might even photograph it and write a very interesting blog piece about the procedure…
‘Yes, Dave, but who would be interested in that?…’

dscn4710
dscn4711

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, design, fashion, Grumpiness, humour, information, style, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Perhaps I have too much time on my hands?…

  1. Rebecca says:

    Gotta love a bit of ‘make-do and mend.’ This is seriously old-skool knowledge, soon to be arcane. Kudos!

  2. Oh I do applaud your skills! I one tried to make a watch strap with leather string and beads…..sadly it didn’t quite turn out the way it was in my head. Made a nice bracelet though, but I just couldn’t get the watch attached. My husband likes watches, although he would simply buy one and not fuss around with making a strap. He says watches are the only kind of jewellery a man wears (apart from the wedding band) so it has to be a good one. I said “define a good watch” and well…that set off a huge lecture on the inner workings of a watch, the movement, the casing, the glass on the casing, etc, etc……I wished I hadn’t asked! 😀

Leave a Reply

