Mail Art Postcard No. 4498…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s financial forecast is for banknotes to flutter in the fiscal wind and for thick heavy coins to wear the bottoms of your pockets away.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

wp-f-4498No, no!… Don’t look!… Avert your eyes dear reader!…
Ah, no, calm down, it’s alright, this is just another of my mail art postcards, a simple collage on bright fluorescent card using cuttings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
No, I have no idea who these two people are, oh, and please don’t bother getting in touch to tell me, this is not the sort of thing I need to know. These two are obviously, what are called in the trade, ‘actors’.
They are a funny lot actors; I’ve met a few of them over the years – most of them seem to be acting all the time, and you never quite know who you are talking to (or even to whom you are talking) – I think they must wake up in the morning, stretch, wiggle their toes, clear their throats, rub their eyes, and think, Now, who shall I be today?…
Looking at my creation above, I just wondered if my sticking on that mouth and those crusty eyes actually changed this picture very much. As these two were posing for publicity shots after recording an episode or two of their popular but ghastly show I expect the photographer said something like:
‘Okay, this shouldn’t take long, just slip into character, stare into the lens, and think about something awful from your past, perhaps an emotional breakup with a partner, a Christmas dinner ruined by a bloody fist fight… That’s it… lovely!…Ā  just hold that…’ Click!
As with most of these ‘stuck on facial features’ cards of mine, it’s hard to tear your gaze away isn’t it? The clever old brain just automatically combines the original face with the new attachments and makes something grotesque but sort of believable out of it, doesn’t it? You can’t help but read ‘meaning’ into this new facial ‘expression’ even though you easily see through the clumsy subterfuge… ‘Clumsy subterfuge’ – I like that!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, composition, creation, design, drama, humour, information, Mail Art, money, postcards, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4498…

  1. I have no idea who these two are either, so alas I cannot enlighten you – even though you expressly wished not to be, you know I cannot help myself on occasion! However, i do like the eyes on the girl…..it gives her a bit of a Mona Lisa stare, don’t you think? šŸ™‚

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Doh!… I knew you couldn’t resist!… I expect you’ll be flicking around the TV channels until you find out who they are!…
      Mona Lisa – well spotted! Yes, there is wisdom and mystery in those eyes…

  2. Rebecca says:

    I find these two bigly disturbing. (Ooh, perhaps you could find a picture of Trump and May and do some feature swapping next, for the ultimate in creepiness?) šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

