Spatter painting No. 17…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s instruction is to cut the four strips of yellow and black tape with a sharp craft knife, slide the device horizontally out of its packaging and lay it on a table, peel off the transparent protective membrane and discard it, press in lugs A, B, and D, (but not lug C) until they click home, connect to the mains supply using the cord provided and switch on the power, lean over and sniff close to the vents in the top to check for any smell of burning plastic and rubber which may be emanating from the inside. Have a couple of buckets of water placed nearby before pressing and holding the red ‘go’ button…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

spatter-17-26-x-20Acrylic paint and black ink on drawing paper about 26″ x 20″

Yes, it seems ages since I forced you to look at one of my spatter paintings. Gosh, these are fun to do, I love to work closely with that flighty serendipitous lass Mother Nature – perhaps I should do some more of these when I finish my current run of linocuts, which are of course more carefully planned and much more slowly executed.

What do you make of this one? Can you look at it and just see the shapes, blobs, and spots, or do you start reading images into it? A couple of fabulous creatures having a rough and tumble at bedtime? Scary huge tropical insects fighting over the ownership of a particular area of forest floor? A pair of alien beings involved in a dance/performance piece at a trendy London venue? Some startling gymnastic ectoplasm at a hippy séance?…
I care not… Me, I just like the shapes and the colours…

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, creation, humour, information, instruction, painting, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spatter painting No. 17…

  1. Love this. It’s good-looking, it is dynamic, it looks like a lot of fun to do, and I see the darker blob pushing at the lighter one, who is down but now out, and striking bac. Love it, as I said. I’ll say again.

  2. Dana Doran says:

    I agree with Claudia….but then I turned the piece 90 degrees to the left and had some great fun! The chase is on!

  3. ktz2 says:

    The blue & green & yellow colors together (or even just the blue & yellow) have been my favorites always. . well, maybe a tie with red & black & white together. The defined edges are a great touch, neccesary even.

    My first impression of the top blob/splotch is suggestive of a map of the US, with Alaska on the left– which IS rather large on a real map. . . then there are a bunch of islands, the yellows and small blues.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Gosh! You know, I have always thought that spatters on things look a lot like shapes on maps – archipelagos, little islands, reefs, etc. – I reckon they might both appear in the form of fractals.
      Defining the edges with black ink changes the whole appearance of these things, it makes the white ground look so ‘clean’ in comparison to the painted areas.

  4. Oh I can’t think what they might be – everyone has suggested good ideas. But it has inspired me to try some inkblot paintings of my own…..once I finish current project. 🙂

  5. twallisstone says:

    I like the black outline on the shapes! Gives it definition. Keep up the great work! ( I might try this method for some fun.) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

