Money well spent Dave?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like the sound of rustling in the undergrowth.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I had heard of such things of course, but had never considered getting a pair.
‘What is he talking about? Jodhpurs? Silver candlesticks? Lycra cycling shorts? Duelling pistols? Thigh waders? Boxing gloves? Staffordshire pot dogs for the mantelpiece? Plastic angel wings?’
My neighbour, the engineer, who regularly travels the world doing very clever engineering things mentioned them; he spends hours and days sitting on aeroplanes; he said that he’d tried them and was seriously thinking of getting a pair.
‘Egyptian cotton pillow cases? Ornamental bookends in the shape of a dachshund? Lead weighted divers’ boots? Skis? Maracas? Diamond cuff-links?…’
No… ‘Noise cancelling’ headphones! He said that he had tried a pair, (was it during a wait at Hong Kong Airport?) he said that they were a revelation!
Now, as you can probably guess, I am not one for whizzing around the world on aeroplanes, but I do occasionally go on trains and more regularly on buses, and I do frequent cafes which are sometimes very noisy, and the hubbub is especially annoying when I am trying to write the first drafts of these blog pieces in my little notebook. I went online and bought a pair – TDK N60NC ones at about £150 from Amazon.
I am sitting here in my favourite cafe as I write this; it is about 5pm on a Friday; there is Amy Winehouse and her surprisingly coarse voice issuing from the speakers up on the wall, there is a party of men, from their language sound to me like East Europeans, who are having a caffeine-fuelled jolly shouting match at a nearby table; oh, and one of the cafe staff has just decided to enthusiastically drag some squealing chairs and tables around the wooded floor.
Right, now for it; headphones out of bag, slide the little switch, green light comes on, headphones on head… Oh joy! Amy and the East Europeans, and even the furniture dragger have suddenly receded into the distance, as if they are all now doing their stuff in a well padded room next door…
I might even switch my MP3 player on and listen to some quiet tasteful blues music, how about Tommy Johnson? Yes, it was a very good idea buying these headphones, well worth the expense – and a lot better than a pair of thigh waders… or plastic angel wings… (TJ)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, conversation, Hull.UK., humour, information, music, overheard, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Money well spent Dave?…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    I’m sure you’ll both be very happy!

  2. Oh well done on your purchase! Nothing better than plastic angel wings…oh wait, sorry…. headphones, to stop society hubbub infiltrating your mind. And excellent choice of music if I may say so! 🙂

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah, yes… good old Tommy Johnson – so mysterious and, dare I say ‘ethereal’? There! Ethereal… I’ve said it!…
      I used my NC headphones today as a bus-child -scream-muter – it was great!…

  3. I think you should have gone for duelling pistols – call out the table dragger first

  4. Dana Doran says:

    I can’t help but wonder if there was a solution to noise in the 1954 Gadgets Annual…..perhaps it advised the weary husband to hand his wife a glass of water and ask her to swish each mouthful thoroughly, wait (counting silently) 30 seconds, repeat until the glass is consumed?

Leave a Reply

