Me, I blame Clint…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dance is the Bagurumba. Come on! Let’s bagurumba around the kitchen… Oops!… Mind that pile of dirty crockery Stella!… (Bagurumba)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I was sitting on a bus that had stopped at the traffic lights.
A chap on a bicycle whizzed past my window, slowed a little, then rode through the lights, still at red, and weaved in and out of the traffic crossing the junction and continued up the road ahead.
Nothing very unusual there then, but I started to wonder why people did this sort of thing; have they always done it or is this a relatively recent trend? Perhaps I have only just started to notice it?
Thinking it over, I decided that no, people haven’t always done this, and that really it is all the fault of Clint Eastwood…
I’m very tempted to leave that statement hanging there in the air, and leave it to you to work out where-I-am-coming-from
No?…
Alright then, it’s all to do with those very popular obsessive anal-retentive characters our Clint used to play – the moody unshaven lone cowboy without a girlfriend, the mentally unstable cop Dirty Harry, and there are probably some others cast in the same mould that I haven’t spotted. These are self-confident testosterone fuelled men who live exciting lives, ignoring the conventions of society, going their own way, damning those torpedoes, and cheerfully breaking all the rules to achieve their ends, no matter what…
Yes, Dirty Harry, the heroic figure, the outsider, the closet fascist, the cool role model with right on his side (in both senses of the word), and a sizable gun in his hand… gee whizz… what a guy!… It’s the American way!…
Would Harry stop at a red light when he was out on his bicycle?… Hell no!

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Film, Grumpiness, humour, observations, seeing, style, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Me, I blame Clint…

  1. People cycle the wrong way down a one-way street in our town. They used to cycle on the no-cycling promenade but the council admitted defeat and put a cycle lane in 🙂 Reason for all these naughty defiant Spaniards cycling where they shouldn’t? Because they used to be able to and they don’t like piffling bureaucracy.

  2. Well…to be honest, I’m on the cyclists side. I know what he did was bad, and possibly life threatening to himself and others, but….having two wheels on the road simply makes the four wheeled vehicles want to have some fun and games with you. So I don’t blame the cyclist for getting his little piece of revenge. Not that I would ever do it, of course, but still…..rootin’ for the little guy here. 🙂

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah, well, you see, Dulltown is very flat and every scallywag has a bike – they ride them most of the time on the pavement, and fast. Me, I don’t like it, mind you, I have only been hit twice so I shouldn’t really complain.
      PS: I emailed you earlier.

      • Oh I don’t agree with cycling on pavements, oh no – if you have wheels, you use the road. Feet are for the pavement. The law is very grey on that, to be honest, but if you have been hit with a bike on the pavement, feel free to give them a clout! Scallywags! Great word 🙂 Oh ok, I’ll go check.

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Dave. These are the “modern” Visigoths.

Leave a Reply

