Monsieur Meesh-lan and his bins…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s elephant in the room is the one annoying the other guests by poking them in their chubby bellies with her trunk in an unwarrantedly playful manner.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn4415Here’s a picture of mine from back in April.
A simple composition, the whole dynamic fuelled, and given meaning, by that single word. That sounds reasonably clever doesn’t it? I am almost tempted to say it again… but I will refrain…
Yes, I was walking into town through a small industrial area of the city when I saw that chubby Mr Michelin up there on top of his ugly shed giving us a cheery thumbs up. Now then, Michelin – that is a French company isn’t it? Me, I say ‘mitch-el-in’ in the English way, but I have heard arty posh people (who have probably just bought a couple of run-down châteaux in sunny France to renovate) say ‘meesh-lan’ – which do you go for dear reader?
Anyway, then I spotted the word ‘alignment’ and decided that if I could poke my camera through a hole in the wire mesh fence and get the rubbish bins in shot too it might make an amusing composition.
I like this one, it makes the eye jump about a bit doesn’t it? There’s not much of interest in the middle, so the eye goes straight to Mr M, then across to the word, and then drops down to those plump grey bins. The flash of bright orange/red in the left-hand bin helps the composition too I think.
‘Veolia’ – now, that’s an unusual word…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, architecture, art, brain, composition, Dulltown, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monsieur Meesh-lan and his bins…

  1. Nice. I like your explanation of the way the lines guide the eye from entrance to resting point. It reminds me of Renaissance art with its point of entry. All destroyed by the more modern techniques of the late 19th early 20th centuries: multiple planes and no entry point, hence no studied journey.

  2. Oh this is nice. The bins caught my eye first, then went up to Mr Mich-a-Lin with his happy thumbs up. Almost like he was praising you for the good photo composition! haha!

  3. Are there some Michelin guides in the “paper recycling only” bin? Perhaps a bunch of them…?

  4. ktz2 says:

    oooh I love the Michelin man. (I say Mish-el-in) and yes it’s a quite lovely composition..

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you Kate!… Mr M to me looks like if he fell over he wouldn’t be able to get up… you’d have to go over and lift him by the shoulders to set him upright again.

Leave a Reply

