A few short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s financial forecast is for people to like money and power more than anything else.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 316.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had a spate of goblins and revenants in my bathroom.

A single overheard remark:
‘There’s all milk in your coat pocket!…’

‘Excuse me, why does it say “You are a big fat slob with a bad hair cut!” on the side of your shotgun?’
‘It’s an offensive weapon…’
‘Ah, right…’

He had an odd sort of face. His lower lip was always smiling while his upper one was stern as anything…

‘So, do you like serifs?’
‘Serifs?… What, angels, cherubs and things?’
‘No, serifs, as on your letters.’
‘My letters? I hardly ever write letters. My friend in Belgorod does send me the occasional postcard though.’
‘Where?… Is that in Lancashire?’
‘No, not really… It’s more like Russia…’
‘Oh right… so, serifs then?’
‘Ah, are they the little spiky bits you get sticking out on the corners of ‘L’s and ‘B’s and such like?’
‘Yes.’
‘Do ‘O’s have serifs?’
‘No, not really…’
“Q’s?’
‘No, not as such…’
‘Pity…’
‘So, do you like them then?’
‘Well, I can take them or leave them I suppose, is that a good enough answer?’
‘Oh yes, yes that’s fine… What time is it now?’
‘I don’t know…’
‘Me neither…’

An observation:
The girl with the pearl earring is sitting in the Dulltown Interchange waiting for a bus… unfortunately she’s not wearing her earring today…

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Fay Tacomplee.

A single overheard remark:
‘I feel I’m a long-range attack type person now…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, money, observations, overheard, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few short but pithy items…

  1. Crazier than usual and extra laugh producing. Fantastic!

  2. I’m doing a set of drawings on ‘odd’ names so will add Fay to the list, if I may. Any idea what sort of work she does?

  3. ktz2 says:

    Those are PITHY alright. . . haha

Leave a Reply

