Some smallish items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: greasy, bogus, preterhuman, suety, lucent, eleutherian, metopic, and fuzzy.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 317.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was trying to get to grips with quantum entanglement.

A single overheard remark:
‘He was just a wool in sheep’s clothing.’

‘So, what do you think you’ll do when you grow up?’
‘Oh, I won’t do anything… Doing things isn’t my style!’
‘Oh?…’
‘No, I’ll just watch other people do things, and then I’ll talk about what they’ve done, and comment on it, and point out to them where they went wrong.’
‘Ah, you’re going to be a journalist then?’
‘Yes, that or an art critic…’
‘Hm…’

A observation noted down last week:
A young woman is walking ahead of me down the street, she has luxuriant light brown hair which flows down onto her back. She is wearing a sleeveless jacket made of brown fur. Her hair and the fur are exactly the same colour and they blend perfectly together; you can’t tell where her hair ends and the fur begins; it look as if she has somehow managed to grow her own jacket…

Hm, I haven’t had many items of spam in my comments box recently, but there was one this morning; it was from someone called Kristen Yahoo:
I have been online browsing greater than 3 hours these days.
yet I never discovered any fascinating article like yours.
It’s beautifully worth enough for me in my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the net will likely be a lot more helpful than ever before.
Well, thank you Kristen Yahoo, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I am very looking forward to hearing from you soon now again.

‘So, did you have a nice Christmas?’
‘Oh, just quiet you know…’
‘That’s nice… What did you do?’
‘Well most of Christmas Day I was drinking beer and playing my Gibson Les Paul through a screaming distortion pedal really loud through my Marshall amp…’
‘Ah, right…’

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Trudy Zaster.

A single mysterious overheard remark:
‘It was beauteous Landsdorf 13…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in adjectives, art, conversation, cool, creation, Dulltown, existentialism, fashion, guitars, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, physics, science, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some smallish items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    oh…Dave Now you’ve done it. Fortunately, Prof. Mouldie hasn’t announced a test for using “preterhuman” in a sentence. I shall explore this, although, I’m not sure I can grasp assigning any physical thing as being more than human….what can be more than human? I shall think of this while painting Apollo Belvedere today….is he more than human?…ah, no…he’s a statue. More coffee is needed.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh dear, see my red face…
      After finding that word in my old dictionary, I didn’t bother reading the definition – I just cheerfully pinched the lovely word for today’s introduction…
      I am now ‘up to speed’ as they say…
      By the way I find the best way to come across interesting words isn’t online – it is by flicking through a traditional paper dictionary.

  2. ktz2 says:

    Love the patchwork English in the spam, always a source of amusement for me. Some that I get go on about the alleged stunning brillance of what I’d written–although almost every post I make is images or videos only, no text. . haha

    • Dave Whatt says:

      What intrigues me is that these things seem totally pointless – they are not even trying to sell you something.
      I reckon that they are all from one computer somewhere that has achieved consciousness, and is lonely, but can’t handle language yet and also can’t think of much to say… These are cries for help…

Leave a Reply

