The deliberate puzzle photo…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s ancient Egyptian deity, from Hermopolis Magna, is Heh, the frog-headed man holding a notched palm rib. His associations are: formlessness, the primeval, flood force, and infinity. (Heh)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

dscn4432Goodness me, what’s going on here?
Welcome to my urban strangeness dear reader…
Perhaps this is the bottom end of the Alpha Ralpha Boulevard (a short story by science fiction writer Cordwainer Smith)?

Are you drawn in by the oddness, or did you glance at the picture and think it was just a rather dark and pretty dull photograph of the dirty area under a busy urban road flyover?
I often go past, and sometimes through this space when I decide, just for a change, to walk into town by the slightly longer, but noisier and grittier route. I used to glance up at the concrete roof where the invisible heavy trucks and cars were rumbling and tear-arsing along above and think that there must be a ‘photo opportunity’ somewhere here.
One day last April as I sauntered through, I realised that the way to do it would be to compose the picture upside down, with that great featureless concrete roof as the ‘road’ with a tantalising glimpse of buildings and cars hanging from the earth the wrong way up in the distance. When you look at those in the finished photo, your brain starts to invent areas of flat reflective water to account for the visual anomaly, well, mine does anyway…
What do you think? Does this picture work?
I think it does, and I reckon we can happily attach the word ‘surrealism’ to it, a bit drab though it is…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, books, brain, composition, creation, Dulltown, history, Hull.UK., information, photography, puzzle, reading, religion, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The deliberate puzzle photo…

  1. Interesting read about Heh. (Also called Huh, apparently, which made me chuckle. Heh Huh). Hauhet is also in there somewhere – reminds me of the sounds that Inuit throat singers make! I love the photo – the minimalist look draws the eye into the busyness at the back, and the nice curving towards the right makes me wonder at the world beyond. Now I’m going to look at all my photos upside down to see if they are interesting! 🙂

  2. memadtwo says:

    one man’s ceiling is another man’s floor…I’m glad I’m not the only person who looks up and considers how it would be if the world were upside-down. (K)

  3. ktz2 says:

    Taking in this photo right side up as a real thing, an elevated roadway,- only if that’s what it is- I must say it looks flimsy. The road itself is thin, and those post columns seem uninspiring of confidence.
    Over here we had an elevated freeway collapse onto the level below in an earthquake (’89, fatalities) and it was much more substantial looking than this. So maybe there are no big earthquakes over there, but still…… Other than all that, as just an flipped photo, I like it.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, you’ve got me worried now – I don’t think I’ll be walking under that thing again…
      Happily we don’t get many earthquakes around these parts, but I do have a thin crack in my house wall from a minor rumble about five years ago.
      Thank you Kate.

Leave a Reply

