That ad for the Rialtos gig…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s old wrinkled Polaroid snapshot is the one of me and Dustin Hoffman drinking Coca-cola and eating doughnuts on the set of Midnight Cowboy in 1968.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

rialtos-poster-smallDear reader, this is a blatantly promotional blog post.
Yes, we are getting the band together again…
The Rialtos was formed in the late 1970s and has died and been resurrected regularly (and briefly) with a variety of different members over the years. We play music from the 1950s and 1960s, throbbing guitar music, rock and roll music, R&B, and blues; rhythmic music that people could, if the wish, get up and dance about and sweat to.
Anybody here heard of Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Rufus Thomas, Muddy Waters?… No?… Hm…
This could be your last chance to see us play – we are getting a bit old for this sort of daftness you know – mind you those Stones are still at it, and look at the state of them! As you see the gig is not for a couple of weeks yet, but already I’m starting to get nervous… Perhaps no-one will come?…
I don’t suppose my poster here (it is in the style that I used to the posters – always in black and white, snipped and pasted and photocopied, using a suitably striking stolen image and a touch of humour) will attract many people to come to the gig, my blog readership locally is quite small, but for those of you out there in the great wide world, I just thought you might be interested in seeing the poster for it – as you see, it features the great Boris Karloff as The Monster, the picture having been pinched from the back cover of his biography.
Hm, I wonder if I should bother putting a new set of strings on my guitar?…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, archeology, art, blues, cool, history, Hull.UK., information, music, style, surrealism, sweating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That ad for the Rialtos gig…

  1. memadtwo says:

    …and on Youtube?

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Haha! It took me more than a minute to reconcile the relationship between “getting the [band] back together” and a picture of Frankenstein’s monster……which, of course, conjured up a vision of Frau Blucher and door knockers….but it’s early!

  3. Oh this is great news! Sadly its too far for me to attend, but I hope it all goes well! I have heard of the above mentioned bands, but only because I like good music – not because I’m old……!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

