Mail Art Postcard No. 4478…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s rather innocuous expletive is ‘By giggery!’ – yes, another wishy-washy Victorian oath where the utterer, in his heart, really wants to say ‘By Jesus!’, but can’t quite manage to get the word out…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

wp-f-4478
What a charming and vivacious young lady!… (I think I might be still in Victorian mode after writing that thing above.)
Hm, this is of course another of my mail art postcards – a simple collage using clippings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
Actually, just looking at it, I quite like the way the image has been clipped, or rather snipped and ripped. The bottom edges being straight cut with scissors and the upper ones just torn – that blue area looks great against the fluorescent green! – I expect that was bit of subconscious aesthetics on my part. Do you have subconscious aesthetics in your life dear reader?…
So, who is this?
I don’t know, but I expect that she is an actor (I generally say ‘actor’ rather than the old-fashioned ‘actress’ although some female actors do prefer to be referred to as ‘an actress’) in some dreary TV soap opera – me, I never watch ’em.
Yet again I have used the ‘stuck-on eyes’ trick – it always works well, you should give it a try. What surprises me here is that although I put the eyes on upside down, which usually has a really upsetting and scary effect, you hardy notice that here – she still looks quite happy and cheerful, I’m tempted to say ‘bubbly’ – me, I’d hate to be described as ‘bubbly’…
There goes that Dave Whatt, he’s always so bubbly!
No, I’m not!… Bugger off!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, expletives, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, TV, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4478…

  1. luke610 says:

    She looks like one of the soccer moms down our school … scary but bubbly at the same time. Oh God.

  2. ktz2 says:

    A funny word. . . bubbly bubbly bubbly bubbly

  3. By the look of her, I’d say she’s had more than her fair share of bubbles…..! “Put the bottle down dear, its time to go home. I know you have been here for 3 days already, but really…..you ought to go and have a little lie down”

  4. Jheron Bash says:

    Oh I think you can be quite bubbly Dave, when the mood takes you!

Leave a Reply

