Oh good, it’s ‘Avenger Trek’ on the TV…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s Raymond Chandler quotation is from his 1943 novel The High Window:
The door on the left led to a small kitchenette with a brown woodstone sink and a three burner stove and an old electric ice-box that clicked and began to throb in torment just as I pushed the door open. On the woodstone drainboard stood the remains of somebody’s breakfast, mud at the bottom of a cup, a burnt crust of bread, crumbs on a board, a yellow slime of melted butter down the slope of a saucer, a smeared knife and a granite coffee-pot that smelled like sacks in a hot barn.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Right then, that’s my evening meal prepared, now let’s see what’s on the TV.
Hm, a choice between an episode of The Avengers from the 1960s, and an episode of the original Star Trek also from the 1960s – they are both nicely undemanding and amusing enough to eat one’s meal in front of. Perhaps I’ll flick channels and watch both of them at the same time…

‘To explore new worlds and…’
‘Excuse me Mr Steed.’
‘Captain’s log, stardate 2716.1’
‘Good morning dear lady…’
‘Arghh!… Kirk out!.’
‘Well Mrs Peel?…’
‘Mr Spock is excellent!’
‘Fix me with your eye!…’
‘His brain was short circuited Captain!’
‘A jar of honey?’
‘We’ll spend the night right here… Oh, no no!’
‘As you say my dear…’
‘It’s an ancient Vulcan technique?’
‘The honey is important!’
‘You must open my mind?…’
‘Do you play cricket?’
‘I feel a strange euphoria…’
‘How very remiss of me.’
‘He used it to erase our memories, like a sponge!’
‘That’s right my dear, it keeps us cool.’
‘Your face went completely blank Doctor.’
‘A break for tea is indicated I think.’
‘You carried me to your cabin?…’
‘A bag of salt, and four goats.’
‘No! Doctor, No!…’
‘That’s a very sobering thought Mr Steed.’
‘It connects with ducts and tunnels.’
‘It brings out the colour of your eyes my dear.’
‘Energize!…’
‘Please, do sit down…’
‘The force field is eliminated!’
‘Now tell me about your camel…’
‘Can you imagine a mind, emptied?…’
‘And nobody gets hurt?’
‘Take us out of orbit Mr Spock..’
‘Oh well done Mr Steed. Capital, excellent!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in books, brain, drama, history, humour, information, reading, serendipity, Star Trek, surrealism, TV, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh good, it’s ‘Avenger Trek’ on the TV…

  1. ‘He used it to erase our memories, like a sponge!’
    ‘That’s right my dear, it keeps us cool.’

    I do like this bit…..sometimes memories can stir up some long forgotten tempers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

