A few short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s image is that of a large crystal chandelier crashing in silence onto the surface of the moon.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 320.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was waiting for Hull UK City of Culture’s internet to work.

A single overheard remark:
‘She’s just had a little boy, they’re going to call him Armani…’

‘Et would sprid like en ipedimic…’
‘Spread like an epidemic?’
‘Yis… thet’s what I sid…’
‘Are you Australian?’
‘No, Sewth Ifrekin…’

Well, I think he was probably the worst busker, street musician, I have ever heard…
He was crouched in a shop doorway with a pair of bongo drums and some sort of portable music player which was punching out a throbbing rock track. I thought that he would start playing some clever bongo rhythms to augment the music, but he didn’t, his performance turned out to be listlessly hitting one of his drums one-handed in a straight 1, 2, 3, 4 of the main beat, and he wasn’t very accurate with that… What a disappointment! I walked off smiling at the nerve of the man…

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Colin Colm Connelly-Colony.

I suppose if you were a barber, and you opened up a place to do your business, you would call it a Barber’s Shop; and if you got another barber in to help you, you might change the name to Barbers’ Shop. I have recently noticed such establishments around town named Barbers Shop, and also Barber Shop… Good god, where will all this end?… Me, I cut my own hair – to hell with them all!…

An observation:
Oh look, two seagulls, flying along together, one in front of the other. The front one is flapping its wings, but the one behind isn’t, and is just gliding. It looks to me like the front one is towing the other…

Now, that was a surprise…
There were two rowdy youths making a lot of noise on the bus, with plenty of swearing, shouting, and aggressive behaviour, but when they got off the bus they were really polite to the driver, they smiled, and thanked him profusely.

A single overheard remark:
‘My hands are real irritable today Joan…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, music, observations, overheard, people, seeing, serendipity, swearing, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A few short, but pithy items…

  1. Talking of birds, let me tell you this little observation. Yesterday morning, (it was just getting light, so very early) I wandered round the corner to the little shop to get some milk. I noticed a huge black bird hovering above a few trees, swooping down, and rising again, hovering on unflapping wings. I stood and watched for a few minutes, thinking with growing excitement that it was a sparrowhawk, or buzzard – probably a buzzard because this was a huge bird with a large wingspan. I grabbed my camera and tried to take a few shots, telling everyone who passed that this was a rare sight indeed, a bird of prey in town! A man stood for minute, watching it with me, and a smile on his face. “See that bird, lassie?” he said, chewing on his pipe “Thats one of those bird scarer things to frighten the seagulls away. Its not real, its a kite….see the string?” Gosh I was SO embarrassed, I skulked off home and didn’t come out for the rest of the day! 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, you poor embarrassed lamb! Yes, I was sucked in similarly when they put one on top of the big shopping centre here in Dulltown – I quite like them – they do move convincingly though don’t they?

      • Yes, THANK you! They do move like a real life swoopy bird would do. Its still there, but I just ignore it….honestly they should announce these things in the paper so poor unsuspecting members of the public don’t get all confused! 😀

Leave a Reply

