Mail Art Postcard No. 4542…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: zucchetto, peplos, gazogene, pugging, aubade, and falcade. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor turn up in the guise of an 18th c. farm worker, chewing on a straw and speaking in a thick Shropshire dialect, you should not let this distract you from your studies.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

wp-f-4542Danger!… TV drama!… TV drama!… Goodness me!…
I don’t really watch much British TV drama, I find it all a little bit too ‘dramatic’, but that’s actors for you – sometimes I… Oh, sorry! Wrong blog post… I’m supposed to be doing one of my silly postcards…
Yes, here’s another of my mail art post cards, a very simple collage on fluorescent card using clippings from that awful cheap TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
Yet again I have used my well-tried and tested ‘eye replacement’ technique – yes, I know, it is an easy thing to do, but the effect is so remarkable and unsettling that it never becomes stale – well, I don’t think it does.
Oh, what’s that clicking sound? I can hear you dear reader, tapping away on your tablet or your phone, eager to tell me who these people, these well-known actors, these well-loved faces, are – please don’t bother, their names won’t mean much to me, oh hang on, just a minute, that’s Juliet Stevenson on the left I think… Oh, and the chap at the front, his face is definitely familiar… Damn! See how easy it is to get drawn in to this celebrity nonsense!…
Isn’t it funny how those great big eyes almost look natural on the chap’s face? Even the skin tones are a close match. I suppose it’s because us humans are preprogrammed to seek out eyes and eye-shaped things (a survival mechanism: Oh, big eyes, looking at us out of a bush! Come on Ugg, let’s run as fast as we can!) our brain doesn’t really care if the scale is all wrong, it is happy to spot them as eyes, and it can consider what thoughts might be bubbling away behind them…
Is this postcard surreal enough for you? It is for me…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, drama, humour, information, Mail Art, mind, people, postcards, school, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, thinking, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4542…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Here I am admitting that I didn’t know that “fact” about eyes (you know, how we seek them out as newborns – assuming any pair of circles separated by a modicum of space is something we should look into) until 2013 – when it was pointed out in an art history class. Of course, there is no point to my comment except that WalMart uses that yellow happy face as its logo….perhaps to attract those humans who run on “automatic?” I do like the Mail Art!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      It also works well with words in advertising – here in the UK we had/have products called ‘Omo’ a washing powder, and ‘Oxo’ a meat stock cube. Even the word ‘lOOk’ is eye-catching!…
      Thank you Dana!…

  2. Oh this is nicely unreal! The chap at the front looks a bit like Timothy Spall, but I can’t be sure now he lost all that weight recently. And eyes, yes….eyes can be placed on anything and it suddenly becomes “normalised” Even my stapler looks cute with a pair of googly eyes on him….it…*ahem*

  3. Shammy says:

    Nice pic of Professor Mouldie.

  4. ktz2 says:

    aaaauuugggh . . yikes. . I’ll see this one in a nightmare haha

  5. junkmonkey says:

    I have a game I play with pictures of ‘celebs’:

    It’s not very interesting but:
    http://anotherjunkmonkey.blogspot.co.uk/2012/11/blog-post.html

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, I love those covers too – so brash – brash, isn’t that a good word – and as for the exclamation mark game, that’s super, I approve.
      I use a lot of exclamation marks – I usually proof read what I write and, out of embarrassment, go back and delete a several of them!…
      I’m very fond of the ellipsis too…

Leave a Reply

