A few short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: grainy, setaceous, nucivorous, gruesome, deglutitive, circumfluent, and ruddy. I am slowly becoming nucivorous – on the whole I think this is probably a good thing.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 321.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was looking for something to put my kibosh on.

A single overheard remark:
‘Come on! Which is it? A puppy or £500?…’

‘Pret a manger…’
‘Dave!… Don’t you know that’s pronounced pret a mon-jay?’
‘Is it?… I don’t care! I don’t see why I should bother learning to pronounce French words properly when, when, that great arbiter of pronunciation, BBC Radio 3 consistently makes such a pig’s ear of Russian composer’s names – they always manage the French, German, and Italian ones for some reason but… Anyway, I don’t speak any Russian, but I do know that the stress in their surnames generally falls on the second syllable, not the first – I got that from reading Vladimir Nabokov books, and, for your information that’s Nab-O-kov not Nabba-cough…’
‘So, these composers?…’
‘Hm, how about Rimsky-Coarse-a-Cough, Borra-Din, Rostro-Po-vich, Shosta-Ko-vich, and…’
‘Alright, alright…’
‘And what about those tennis players, Maria Shara-Po-va!…’
‘Look, I’m sorry I mentioned it…’

I don’t often laugh out loud at stuff on the TV, but there was that 1986 ‘family’ comedy film Short Circuit on the other night. It was an odd film in that although it centred around a very cute robot, which the kids would naturally warm to, there were also plenty of harsh expletives flying around in the dialogue too – how odd…
The point where I guffawed was when the leading woman in the film was on the phone to the military lab informing them that she had found their ‘runaway robot’, and wasn’t making any headway with them, she said, ‘No, no, never mind! Get back to your nuclear warheads!…’

Speaking of things on TV…
On the evening of January 20th I was ‘sort of’ watching an episode of that great 1960s series Mission Impossible, with people impersonating other people by wearing special lifelike rubber masks and with clever convincing wigs stuck on their heads, to fool everyone into accepting them as some important person in the plot. When the advert breaks interrupted the flow I flicked over to see what was happening on the BBC News – there was someone called D. Trump being inaugurated as the 45th president of the United States… Hm…

A single overheard remark:
‘No, no, he’s an economic Christian…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in adjectives, books, conversation, expletives, Film, humour, information, irony, observations, overheard, serendipity, surrealism, swearing, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A few short but pithy items…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Nice to read your blog! No idea why I never received yesterday’s ….

  2. ktz2 says:

    more pith pith pith. . I wonder how that word even came to be

  3. Puppies cost £500 these days, y’know. And I always mispronounce things – which sound better sometimes than the “proper” way 🙂 Also, did you know about this use of your artwork http://synapticstimuli.com/Being-very-present-can-result-in-extreme-memory-loss I was searching decalcomania and came across these…

  4. Jheron Bash says:

    Well that’s a rum do & no mistake!

  5. junkmonkey says:

    Thanks for the pronunciation pointers, Dave. I think I’ll show them to my kids – solely because if I do, the twisted little buggers will happily balls up the school Christmas Carol [s]bore[/s] concert by singing “Away in a Mon-Jay no crib for a bed…”

    My personal bit of Radio 3 funny names fun is counting the many interesting and different ways announcers pronounce Don Quixote (sometimes, if an intro is more than a few words long, the same announcer may say it more than one way during the space of a couple of minutes). My favourite at the moment is the afternoon live guests bloke (whose name escapes me at the moment) who says ‘Donkey Shot’.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      “Away in a mon-jay” Ho ho!
      Me, I hate Radio 3, but I do have it on whilst I’m working – it is slightly less annoying than all the other dumbed-down channels: R4, World Service, 4extra, etc.

Leave a Reply

