One or two smallish items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s financial forecast is for large amounts of money to grow and small amounts to dwindle.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 322.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I got off on the wrong foot.

A single overheard remark:
‘Just don’t touch it with your mouth Bernard…’

‘Why are you chuckling reading that geometry book?’
‘I was looking at the conic sections.’
‘Comic?…’
‘No, conic, it’s a geometry book.’
‘Oh, alright…’

I see that the local bus company, who, for some reason, have been naming their buses after famous Dulltown people (they have apparently named eight buses so far) have run out of famous locals and are advertising for suggestions from the general public…

Excuse me a moment, there seems to be an item of spam in my comments box. It’s from someone called Frank Inbox:
Ahaa iits nixe dialogue concerning this piece of ritting aat this pllace aat tis webpage, I have radd all that this time mee alpso commenting here. Woah! I’m really enjoying ththe template/theme off thkis site. It’s simple yyet effective. A llot oof timnes it’s challenging to gett tht “perfect balance” between user friendliness aand appearance.
Well thank you Frank Inbox, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

Yes, I think I’ll change my name to Doug Upindi-Garden.

Late yesterday afternoon, sitting in the cafe, I realised that I was living inside an Edward Hopper painting. (EH)

An observation:
Oh, that’s odd! There are two Helena Bonham Carters in the cafe today, one of them must be the real Helena Bonham Carter, the other must be her stunt double. I’ll pop across in a moment and ask them which is which…

A single overheard remark:
‘The toilet is just there, like in limbo…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, conversation, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, money, observations, overheard, painting, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One or two smallish items…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    They should definitely name a bus after you, Dave. It should be the one you usually catch into town with a plaque on your favourite seat.

  2. ktz2 says:

    hahahaa. It seems Frank the Spammer is heavy handed on tthe kkeyybooard, eh? but yes…Ahaa iits nixe ritting Woah!

  3. junkmonkey says:

    erm… I’m having trouble thinking of famous people from Hull. Maurine Lipman, Amy Whinehouse Johnson (the singing aviatrix), David… that singer bloke from the fifties that no-one can remember what he actually sang but they named a big street after him in Hull so he must have been famous (once), William Wilberforce (a hero), Stevie Smith (the poet)? I’m running out fast.

    Oooh. Helena Bonham Carter… Frwarrr fwarrr! really?!

Leave a Reply

