A few titchy but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s elephant in the room is the one trying to barge into the middle of the line dancing session – she just loves the music!
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 323.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I thought that I might try triggering article 50…

A single overheard remark:
‘The thing is, I have quite long thighs…’

‘Fire surrounds…’
‘Does it?’
‘Eh?…’
‘Surrounds what?’
‘Eh?… No, no, fire surrounds!…’
‘I heard you, there’s no need to shout!’
‘The things that you have round your living room fire!…’
‘What? Fire surrounds?…’
‘That’s what I said! You dumb-ass!…’

Now, what’s this popping up? It’s a piece of spam in my comments box, it seems to be from someone called Frank Inbox:
I mmust ssay you’ve dkne a amazing joob with this. Also the blokg lopads very quic for mee onn Internet explorer. Superb blog! I’ve been surfinng onlin moore than two hours today , yyet I nevvr found any interesting article lijke yours. It’s pretty with enough ffor me Personally, iif all site oners and bloggers mase good contenht aas yoou did, the internet wiull bbe a llot more useful than evewr before.
Well, thank you Frank Inbox, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon.

A fleeting observation from the upper deck of a bus:
We were passing a scruffy rather rundown block of flats in the town centre – I had a very quick glimpse through the curtains into a room on the third floor – they had the Mona Lisa on their wall…

I see that people, mainly men and boys, seem to like to wear brightly coloured football shirts with the name of some famous and presumably talented player printed on the back. I had the idea of having similar things made, still with the bright colours and in the same style, but with artist’s names on the backs – Piero della Francesca, Peter Paul Rubens, Joan Miro, and so on… Would you buy one dear reader? I’ll bet Waldemar Januszczak would have one!

Yes, I think I might change my name to Holly Wood-Boulevard.

A single overheard remark: (A bus driver to people waiting at a bus stop.)
‘Don’t just stand there like bloody do-nuts!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, conversation, cool, Dulltown, fashion, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A few titchy but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    They had the Mona Lisa on their wall….while I’m reasonably certain that it wasn’t “the” Mona Lisa, do you think the Louvre would display a copy? Yes, they would. But I’m guessing that’s not the reason that you mentioned it. If I were homeless, would sleeping next to a “Banksy” make me feel better?

  2. luke610 says:

    Hi Holly … i like dougnuts. I think the Mona Lisa is the most overrated portrait of all overrated portraits. It’s also very titchy.

  3. Jheron Bash says:

    Could I get a football shirt with “Jheronimus Bosch” on it, please?

  4. Claudia says:

    I had something similar in my spam folder too! Aren’t we lucky?

Leave a Reply

