Mail Art Postcard No. 4640…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s ancient Egyptian deity is the god Hapy who appears as a male figure with pendulous breasts and an aquatic plants headdress. He is associated with the inundation of the Nile. (Hapy)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

wp-f-4640Periodically over the last couple of days I spent some time slicing up old copies of that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV, to compose, snip, and glue a new batch of my reasonably popular mail art postcards; I managed to make about twenty of them. Last night I numbered them and then photographed them.
Here is number 4640:
4640, phew! That’s a lot of postcards over the years. I wonder how many of the ones I’ve sent are still extant out there in the world. ‘Extant’ that’s a great word isn’t it? It sounds so much more clever than saying ‘existing’ – I remember once seeing it in a text-book when I had to do an art school essay on Mannerism; (I still like Mannerism by the way – I like its delicacy and its strangeness! [M]) I was impressed by the look and the sound of the word and I resolved there and then to remember it, and use it at every opportunity; I think I slipped it into that essay at least twice!

So, three puzzled puppies. Now, which one has the most intelligent eyes? Yes, it’s trick question – it certainly looks like the one with the stuck-on mouth doesn’t it? The other two really do look pretty dim-witted, but Puppy One does seem to have a cynical and world-weary look on his face, even in his eyes.
He’s saying, ‘Oh, come on!… We’ve seen rubber bones before! Haven’t you got any of those nice dog chocolates with you?…’

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, creation, history, humour, information, learning, Mail Art, mind, postcards, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4640…

  1. The puppies do look awfully sad….puppies aren’t supposed to look sad. They are quite possibly just out of reach of those chocolates, ha! As far as Hapy goes, well he is a strange looking figure indeed. I got offered the chance of a mannequin for Β£18 that looks like that. I’m still considering it, although its definately female…..6 foot tall, tiny waist and huge bosoms. Clearly designed by a man. πŸ˜€

  2. The puppies are sick and tired of being cute and temporarily let their guards down?

  3. junkmonkey says:

    I have a few of your cards around here somewhere but quite where I don’t know. My house is such a heap of stuff I have been known to lose my kids in it from time to time (I’m sure there used to be three of them) – aha! just found one (of your cards that is, not one of my kids) sandwiched between two other examples of native folk art – to wit a couple of ancient cards from ladies offering dubious services that I harvested from phone boxes in London. (Natalie – Miss Naughty Knickers and Charlotte (Luxury Apartment) ‘Spank me I’m Naughty’.)

    It’s number 2968 and features a very startled looking Wonder Woman – probably the company she’s been keeping.

  4. Claudia says:

    That one puppy’s mouth makes MY mouth hurt…

Leave a Reply

