Mail Art Postcard. No. 4630…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s stupid sounding remark is ‘Very fantastic!’.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

w-f-4630Hey! How’s this for a mail art postcard?…
Yes, a simple collage on bright card using snippets from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV. I think, if anyone asked me, I’d say that this one might be just a little bit satirical, and possibly even a little bit, er, subversive…
I’ll bet you are wondering where the cutting of text came from; perhaps it was a tastefully presented advert for our jolly good British landmines, or our fantastic new range of cluster bombs, but I don’t think they are on sale in What’s On TV, well not yet anyway.
I have noticed, in the magazine, full-page adverts for commemorative pocket watches or printed china plates to go on the wall, with various themes, this might be something like that. Off hand, I can’t think of anything that the British Army would happily put their name to in such a cheap rag as What’s On TV; I suppose I should have kept the rest of the page for reference purposes when I snipped that out.
What could it be?… Perhaps a glass desk ornament of some kind celebrating a daring exploit of the SAS, or lots of grinning muddy, or dead, ‘Tommies’ from WWI?…
Anyway, what about our couple running like hell from erupting flames and hot debris? I don’t recognise them. Are they famous Hollywood stars that I am not up to speed with?
I like the way the chap is looking out of the picture at us as he crouches and lurches. The both of them look like they’ve had a particularly hard day – just look at the state of their jeans! It’s alright though, I expect they have an efficient washing machine back at the flat – those pants will be wonderfully clean and reeking of fabric conditioner by morning…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in adjectives, advertising, art, composition, drama, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mail Art Postcard. No. 4630…

  1. The Army advert is probably from a grenade, I imagine. You have to pay extra for the key….because if you don’t get the key, you have what is being so visually described in the picture. At least the guy is running away – she looks like she runs like a girl who doesn’t want to get her shoes wet….!

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Haha! Levi Strauss advises that one should NEVER wash jeans because it could “damage the fabric.” The CEO suggests that he personally “spot cleans” his with a toothbrush. When I read that, I wondered….whose toothbrush does he use?

    • Dave Whatt says:

      “Never wash jeans” No, surely not, this must be crazy talk!…
      As a child of the 1960s, I remember people sitting in their new jeans in a bath full of water, and then they wore them until they dried, so that they would shrink around them for a very good fit…
      Never did it myself though…

  3. Can I just comment on the jeans conversation while I’m here…..have you seen the ridiculous fashion (stolen from the late 80’s early 90’s) where people are walking around with ripped holes in the knees….or even on the thigh in some cases. Its was silly back then, and its sillier now. Not to mention the prices shops are charging for a pair of them. Oh, and while I’m sounding all old and grumpy – I saw a pair of doc martin-esque boots with fake mud on them for a hugely inflated price. I said to the sales assistant “Oh I can get that look for free when out walking the dog” she just looked haughtily at me. Alright then, as you were. Carry on. I shall take my grumping elsewhere. 😀

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ripped knees…
      I know, it is quite funny really – You wonder what they have been doing to wear their knees out like that – I picture these trendy teenage girls you see around town kneeling down sawing and hammering and repairing floorboards and joists – as if!… Ho ho!…
      Ready-mudded Docs? Whoa!…

  4. Saw this on flickr. Nice direct collage. Wouldn’t call this surreal. It’s too realistic.

Leave a Reply

