A few short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: bobak, arapaima, whaup, rumbelow, manteel, and setwall. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor turn up for the lesson wearing swimming goggles, a pair of leopard-skin bathing trunks, and with a snorkel in his mouth, you should not remark on, nor draw attention to this; nor should you let it affect your concentration.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 325.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I found a rogue mongoose in my gazebo.

A single overheard remark:
‘Yes, but I don’t like seeing it nude…’

So, Obama Care – will they be replacing it with Trump Don’t-Care?…

An observation:
I am standing at the bus stop. It is a quiet sunny Sunday afternoon. A middle-aged woman in a big furry coat walks quickly past. She is wearing shiny red hi-heel shoes. She sounds exactly like a horse on cobbles… No, really, I mean, exactly!

I do appreciate it when people comment on my posts – oh, but what’s this? It looks to me like an item of spam. It seems to be from someone called ‘John‘: (I do know a couple of Johns, but I don’t think this is either of those.)
Ahaa, itss gooid discussion concerfning tuis posat hete aat this web site, I hae rdad all that, so att this mee also commenting here.
Ahaa, itss pleasant conversation oon tthe topic oof this piece oof writing aat this place at thuis web page. I have read aall that soo noow mme akso commenting here. Hi, I ead yoor blogs regularly. Yoour story telling style iss witty, kkeep up the good work!
Well, thank you Johnny-boy, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and thank you for your encouragement. I do hope to hear from you again soon.

From the on-screen TV guide: Film:
“Genghis Khan” – …the warring Mongol tribes. Contains moderate violence.

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Ellie Fann-Tyne.

‘Did you say that you’d just seen a barcode on a tree trunk?’
‘Yes…’
‘What? With black and white stripes, and a number?’
‘No, it was nothing like that, it was just a poem scratched into the surface with some sharp implement.’
‘A bark ode?…’
‘That’s what I said…’
‘Hm…’

A single overheard remark:
‘… and that Charlotte, she’s just bilious!…’

 

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Film, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, serendipity, style, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A few short, but pithy items…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Bark ode! Tee hee – you are a wag!

  2. Claudia says:

    Funny and bright this morning!

Leave a Reply

