The PCCP in the City of Culture…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s featured vegetable is the dusty and morose sweet potato slouching against a full carton of milk on the kitchen worktop.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Well dear reader, I hope you are not easily upset by what the TV and the other media like to call ‘strong language’.
Here is a picture from my days of old-style, black and white, 35mm film and darkroom photography; it was probably taken in the late 1980s or early 1990s in an area of partial dereliction in this city close to the bank of the great flat brown River Humber.
Yes, as we are supposed to be currently celebrating Hull, UK City of Culture 2017; buying in lots of arty events, ‘installations’, and theatre stuff; and of course having The Turner Prize  coming to visit later in the year, I thought that I’d post this image as a nice example of our home-grown local culture and wit.
Whether you are offended by the message in this piece of work, or not, you must surely admire the confident and carefree style of the calligraphy. One can imagine the artist, obviously right-handed, leaning over and crouching slightly to achieve that nice cascading effect in the lettering – Note the slight curve in the limb of the exclamation mark, a subtle flourish to finish…

I’m glad that I managed to get those tire tracks in at the bottom of the frame; they provide a nice connection to the message above. Actually I don’t think the artist meant to be sending any ‘message’ – he/she was just remarking on the fact that the well-off people who run businesses in the area park their expensive shiny cars on this site – it is a simple statement of fact. I expect the words have been put there, by someone who certainly isn’t posh, for the executives to read as they drive in and out every day…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, composition, cool, creation, Dulltown, expletives, Film, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, swearing, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The PCCP in the City of Culture…

  1. HAHAHA!! Love it – say it like it is 😀

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Well Dave…yeah, generally we don’t use that word in our home…except when referring to a certain female attorney….however, it has slipped from my lips when extremely angry or perhaps drunk…..but, there could be more here than meets the eye – I mean, well I don’t know what I mean, but suppose there was a hyphen between cunt-car, which I suppose is like describing a 6’6″ man driving an expensive, but tiny little convertible in which he appears too large to be comfortable driving it or that the woman driving the car actually met the definition of those instructive words. Just funny, really funny…..I’d watch that spot to see who parks there in the future?

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well Dana, I don’t use it in my home either, well, er, nor very often, and of course I do live alone…
      “In the future”: Ah, that was taken years ago, I think that wall with its pithy message is long gone now…

  3. Jheron Bash says:

    Banksy eat your heart out! That’s the Hull I know & love. LOL.

Leave a Reply

