A few short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: abyssal, rubbery, warted, zoppo, tapestried, invious and desquamative. I think my favourite of these must be desquamative, just for the sound of it – I must try to slip it into conversation today.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 326.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I found that I had suddenly developed the power of telekinesis.

A single overheard remark:
‘Have you had your you-know on yet?…’

An observation:
All the people in town yesterday had pointed noses like bird’s beaks.’

Note: An idea for an art performance piece:
I can play Walk Don’t Run by the Ventures on my guitar reasonably well, but for the gallery show the verse will be played repeatedly for an hour on an electric guitar through a loud amplifier, but with thick gloves on both of my hands. (WDR)

‘Hey, be careful with that big plate of seafood, you know you’re accident prawn…’

‘So how was the lecture?’
‘It turned out to be an apathy-fuelled rant.’
‘A what? I don’t think you could have one of those.’
‘Oh?’
‘No, ‘rant’ is just a bit too, er, assertive – and the combination of that and ‘fuelled’… Well, I mean…’
‘Oh, you think so? Perhaps the lecture wasn’t so bad after all…’
‘Eh?…’

Now then, what’s this? Ah, a very short item of spam in my comments box. It seems to be from someone called Finger Monkey Cost:
Hi there every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this weblog; this web site carries amazing and genuinely fine material in favor of visitors.
Well, thank you Finger Monkey Cost, I do appreciate your kind remarks, and any future comments from you will be most welcome.

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Wilf Rolf Wolf.

‘What do you think of this piece of art?’
‘I don’t like it.’
‘Ah, but you’ve probably not read enough about it.’
‘How do you mean?’
‘Well the chap in the Sunday Times says that it’s all about the artist’s abuse in childhood, her frequent episodes of illness, depression, and her early life in the crime infested slums, and her lifelong fear of mice and glossy magazines…’
‘I still don’t like it.’
‘Alright…’

A single overheard remark:
‘Everybody’s just clams in there!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in adjectives, art, brain, conversation, guitars, humour, information, music, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few short, but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Well you’ve hit on something there Dave…..perhaps artist’s should spend more time working on the story of their sordid and shattered existence, instead of the product?

  2. ‘Have you had your “you-know” on yet?…AND…..’All the people in town yesterday had pointed noses like bird’s beaks.’ (That’ll be the “you know” whispered in hushed tones with furtive looks to the side.) That birds beak hides a multitude of sins….!

Leave a Reply

