Mail Art Postcard No. 4643…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s alligator is the one arguing about the price of toothpicks in the queue for the supermarket checkout.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

How about glancing at one of my Mail Art postcards dear reader?…

Yes, just another simple collage using snippets from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
There’s not a lot to this one is there? A big bright shocking word juxtaposed (love that word!) with some unshaven chap with bruised knuckles having a rather bad day. I have no idea who he is, or what he is trying to do, and actually I don’t care…
Perhaps he is just on holiday? I do know that some people, mostly men I think, who have mundane desk jobs involving plenty of paperwork, phone calls, and staring at laptop screens for hours on end, feel the need to go out and suffer in a different way at the weekends.
I think if you are going to do a bit of intentional sweating and perform arduous (I don’t think that I have ever before used the word ‘arduous’) muscle-aching tasks, it is a lot more satisfying if there is something useful, or worth looking at, at the end of it – perhaps a nicely assembled set of bookshelves, a new garden gazebo, some big logs cut up for your wood burning stove, a well-painted garage, etc., rather than just finding yourself sitting shivering, rubbing at your chilblains at the top of an ice-covered mountain, in a freezing easterly gale, with hailstones bouncing off your forehead. Still, each to his own – who am I to scoff at such activities… Perhaps the point of it is not actually doing it, but telling like-minded people all about it the warm cheerful pub down in the valley later?…
Now… Ouch!… If I can, (gasp) just, get my hand, (gasp) onto this ledge… Damn!… The stone’s crumbling away as I… Hang what’s that funny scurrying sound coming from above?… Oh, hell, (gasp) I’ve never liked creepy-crawlies!…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, composition, creation, drama, humour, information, Mail Art, observations, postcards, serendipity, surrealism, sweating, TV, Uncategorized, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4643…

  1. Perhaps your guy is trying to escape Monday mornings at the office, and those beasties are symbolic management types ready to pounce and drag him back to his little cubicle. Just my take on it. My hubby is one of those shivery – achey bones outdoorsy types. He has his best days when he comes back from the hills soaked through. Not my idea of fun, but hey, whatever makes him happy!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, indeed – let them enjoy their ‘suffering’ and their ‘bonding with nature’ – give me a cup of tea, a small guitar, and a glowing television any time…

Leave a Reply

