Their Little Kingdom, with relaxing £1 massage…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s interesting album title is – ‘Intellectuals are the Shoeshine Boys of the Ruling Elite’ – Killdozer (1984) (Killdozer)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yes, it was last summer in a shopping centre here in Dulltown; my attention was immediately grabbed by these two colourful cuties. What struck me was that Ben and Holly don’t appear to be very happy in their work; to me they look rather startled, and perhaps a bit anxious, as if they are deeply puzzled by the drab humans with whom they share the shopping centre; I also notice that they don’t seem to have mouths, or do they? Is it a trick of the light? (What a very nice phrase that is – let’s say it again, a trick of the light… I suppose that’s exactly what photography is.) Maybe B and H gave up speaking a long time ago… They look as if they are thinking – Help us, help!… Get us out of this capitalist hell hole!…
Anyway, even though I spotted the man in the white baseball cap giving me a suspicious sidelong look under his peak, I quickly got my little camera out and… click!…
I do like this picture; it is funny, and also a bit depressing don’t you think? How about a relaxing massage then? Only a pound for five minutes; that sounds a lot of money for just five minutes… Me, I think that I’d be embarrassed to sit there being vibrated in public…
‘Hello Dave… Oh, I haven’t seen you since schooldays, how are you?’
‘Oh, hello… er… Tony… Look… just hang on a moment… I have two minutes left on this thing…’
I’m glad that woman stopped to look in the window of the second-hand phone and game shop, the composition needed something of interest just there on the left, to lead the eye into the scene…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, colours, composition, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, music, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Their Little Kingdom, with relaxing £1 massage…

  1. Hmm, well its nice to know that shopping centres look the same up and down the country, with the advertising and massage chairs. We don’t have a Ben & Holly though – we have what seems to be their cars, with screeching horns, vibrant colours and flashing lights. Our massage chairs are occupied by truanting youth with legs akimbo, chewing gum and clicking buttons on their phones. Lovely sight to behold for our 2021 City of Culture bid….Anyway, my hairdressers has one of those chairs, so I tried it. never again! Very unnerving, ha!

  2. junkmonkey says:

    “the second-hand phone and game shop” is CEX.

    CEX is brilliant!

    CEX have a website and every now and then I go there and type random words into their search engine. DVDs for less than a quid. If you buy ten items the postage works out at 25p per item.

    I have found some truly DREADFUL films like that.

    Some of which I have chuntered about here:
    http://www.sffworld.com/forum/threads/2017-movie-diary.51011/

Leave a Reply

