A few more small, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown,UK: Today’s Aspidistra is the over-the-top exuberant lush flashy one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 327.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I found that someone had nailed my shoes to the floor.

A single overheard remark:
‘Peter, does it look big, in my hand?…’

An observation:
In town yesterday I saw an old man with an impressive white beard wearing a bright red winter jacket – he looked just like Father Christmas – you’d think he’d have avoided buying a red one wouldn’t you, having the beard and all? Of course he could have been the real Father C.

I see that the local bus company have posters inside their buses advertising for PCV/LGV Vehicle Shift Fitters. Doesn’t that roll off the tongue nicely? It sound’s very impressive too! If you had that job you could condense it a bit more, and when asked what you did for a living, you could say you were a PCV/LGV/VSF.

There was an item of spam in my comments box a couple of days ago; it was commenting on one of my Misheard Song Lyrics Over the Cafe Hubbub pieces; it was from someone called sunrox:
Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about
this like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive message home
a little bit, but other than that, this is great
blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.
Well, thank you for your very kind and constructive words. What sort of pictures do you think would help me to ‘drive message home’ in this piece? I do look forward to hearing more from you in the future sunrox.

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Fay Ling-Badley.

‘What’s that you have there? Is it a trinket?’
‘A trinket? I don’t believe so, it’s a bit big for a trinket, don’t do you think?’
‘Hm, too large… You’re right, perhaps it’s a trink?’
‘Yes, that’s what it must be, an actual trink…’

She had the shape of mouth that looked like it was continuously saying the word ‘plastic’…

A single overheard remark:
‘So it went straight down onto the concrete floor!’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in cafe, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, jobs, misheard, observations, overheard, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A few more small, but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    So Dave….I don’t think you should change your name….moreover, you don’t look like a “Fay” to me. Perhaps you should take a poll? On adding pictures to drive the point (???????) home (hold it…still laughing about making a point)…this is the reason I don’t “write” a blog…..I just pretty much post pictures (pictures without the adjective of “pretty” – because I’ve never been accused of that). It’s way more fun to write comments…and then disappear….like that chap you described with a tea cozy on his head, walking up the down escalator in a busy shopping mall singing God Save the Queen…..uh huh, that’s why I read your blog.

  2. I think it WAS Father Christmas. He wants to remind everyone that there are only 277 days left until the Big Day! *runs away*

  3. ktz2 says:

    Oh Dave…I see that in exploring your archives from the list of months that there is no way to Like or comment on the posts.
    Those options seem available only when older posts are displayed as ‘related’ at the bottom of a more current post. Perhaps you have the Likes & Comments turned off for the archives ?

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, I don’t understand why that should be – actually, I’m not very good at the technical side of blogging, but I don’t think I have accidentally disabled something… Hm…

  4. ktz2 says:

    Ooops never mind, I misspoke about the comment option on archives, I see it now.

Leave a Reply

