Waggling my toes with my socks on in my hospital bed…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s post is dedicated to the jolly good staff of the Hull Royal Infirmary and also to the British National Health Service. (HRI)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yes, my dedicated readers will probably have noticed that I disappeared from their screens with no explanation rather suddenly about a week ago – this is what I have been doing in the interim.

Perhaps I should give you a brief outline of what transpired:
Having typed in last Thursday’s post and sent it winging off into the ether, I heard some strange weird and eerie whining and buzzing sounds coming from the direction of my back garden. On peering out I saw that a silver disc-shaped object about the size of eight double-decker buses had touched down on my lawn knocking my hanging bird feeder off its hook in the process. The silver suited chaps with the big dark eyes got out and made their way straight into the house even though the back door was securely locked, and asked if they could use my toilet. I said that they could, and after they had done whatever they had to do, I offered them cups of tea, which they politely declined, but we chatted for a while and they invited me to go back with them for a few days to have a look at their home planet Wham-Ham-Ham-Wham somewhere a bit further into the centre of the galaxy than where we live. Before we set off, one of the chaps, his name was Axi-Axi Bunn kindly nipped across the grass and rehung my bird feeder for me, what a nice chap! When we rose into the air, looking down I noticed that…

No, what really happened was that I had been taking some pain killers called Ibuprofen to take the sharp edge off some dental work I had recently had done. They did not agree with me!
Gastric unpleasantness ensued for two horrible foodless waterless days – I won’t go into lurid details, but at midnight on the Friday with the prospect of another night of sitting up in bed in pain and misery I phoned NHS 111 and talked to a couple of very nice people who said that really they should order an ambulance to come and rescue me – it arrived at about 2 am.
Anyway, a few days being looked after by experts and some tests being done I am now feeling somewhat better, but I think I might go and have a lie down as soon as I have posted this… I’m hoping to be available tomorrow too dear reader…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in drama, Dulltown, Hull.UK., learning, style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Waggling my toes with my socks on in my hospital bed…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Well, what a relief! Welcome back to Blogland, Dave. I’m sure I can speak for your many readers around the globe in saying that life has been a hollow mockery without your daily cheer.
    Do try to get some rest though!

  2. …”after they had done whatever they had to do…” now this has me curious as to how Aliens navigate our bathroom facilities – especially when they have those awful Dr Who crinkly space suits on! Also – I cannot believe you actually took a camera into hospital with you….ever the artist, even when in pain. 🙂 Lovely to see you here again!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you my dear Scribbler!
      Well, because I use a little camera, I always have it with me – I couldn’t resist snapping the scene. Actually that was taken when I was feeling a lot better, after all the upset was done with and the boredom was setting in.

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Oh the joys of modern medicine! Nothing like an adverse reaction caused by the “fix” for something else…..kind of like politics, eh? Luckily…

  4. So you went to hospital after OD ing on Ibu because of some dental work.

    Oh yes. Toughen up.

  5. Great photo, day old socks?

  6. Shammy says:

    As you had the camera with you, I wish you had snapped the silver suited chaps with the big dark eyes instead of that made up story about being in hospital.

  7. I’m still back at the dental work that hurt so much. My sympathies. I’m focusing on this part, I think, because I recently had a crown put in, requiring multiple novacain shots leaving my jaw so sore for several weeks. So I’m hoping all your pains are in the past now and glad you’re better. Aliens and all.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you Claudia!
      I really hate dentistry too.
      The procedure at the start of all this trouble was one of the worst, an extraction. But, I had it done with ‘sedation’ – no pain at the time and no awful memories of the event – it was pretty good really.
      It was the pain killers for the subsequent ‘after ache’ that caused all the trouble.

  8. David Manley says:

    oh…no so good…hope you’re recovering nicely now!

Leave a Reply

