Mail Art Postcard No. 4616…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the possibly onomatopoeic word ‘marble’…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Right then…
I’m still not quite on top form after my recent adventures; perhaps this morning I’ll keep it nice and simple and just show you another of my silly mail art postcards – that will be fairly undemanding for me… Oh dear, I seem to have left my cup of tea in the kitchen… back in a moment dear reader…

Whoa!…
Yes, a simple collage on bright card using clippings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV – funny, I always want to put a question mark on the end of that, but there isn’t one.
Now, before we proceed with the arty talk and my trying to find some opportunities for levity, I must first confess my ignorance in the field of nature – birds, animals, flora, tundra, great plains, rift valleys, etc. – I know nowt!… I obviously don’t watch enough David Attenborough on the TV.
So, anyone know what this creature is?
Words like ‘stoat’, ‘weasel’, ‘squirrel’, ‘ferret’, float into my head – meerkats seem very popular here in the UK for some reason – I think it’s because they stand up on their hind legs a lot, and appear very cute, often rather nonchalant and supercilious, and ‘human’. I don’t think this is one of those though, but as I say, I could be wrong – this beast could be a stinking monitor lizard or a vicious Gila monster for all I know.
How to attract birds. Well you could start by trying to look a bit more pleasant; you know, how about just a hint of a smile? A bit of warmth? This chap looks like a hard faced right wing politician who has never cracked a decent joke in his life, or perhaps some poor drab soul who has spent fifty years at a brown oak desk in an ill-lit government building that smells of bad drains and damp…
I think this card works reasonably well, don’t you? Juxtaposition! I just had to slip that word in – a short item of intriguing text, an eye-catching picture – put them together and… bingo! – Humour and surrealism in equal measure…
My work here is done…

 

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, creation, dreaming, existentialism, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4616…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Carry on the good work, Dave!
    Actually, I believe it might be an otter. My work here is also done

  2. Its an otter…..oh, I didn’t realise Jheron has already said that!. Ah well, yes…looks like my neighbour from down the road. All we need now is a pair of net curtains…… 😀

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Good morning Dave – even without my second cup of morning caffeine, I could tell you with an almost 99% degree of certainty, that picture is of an otter….probably because two others announced the same – I tend to go with the pack….sometimes. Now for something to start your day with a smile – well, I think you will appreciate this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9FzVhw8_bY

  4. Dave Whatt says:

    Canadians… Ah, right, that explains everything…

Leave a Reply

