One or two titchy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s instruction is to put an empty cereal box on your head, wear dark glasses, and Morris dance into the town centre grinning at everyone on the way. (MD)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 328.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was waiting for things to pan out.

A single overheard remark:
‘She’s the biggest white elephant in the room…’

After publishing yesterday’s post, Stella plumps for bourbons…, I noticed that when the link appeared on Twitter, a box had appeared which offered to translate the title from French for me.

‘I want to be a star!’
‘Oh?… What star do you want to be?’
‘What star?’
‘Yes…’
‘That one, that one over there, the really bright one.’
‘No, no, you can’t be Sirius!…’
‘But I am!…’

I don’t have a car, but if I did I’d have it repainted like one of Edward Wadsworth’s ‘dazzle camouflage’ warships of World War II. (Dazzle)

‘Now, here’s a question for you.’
‘Yes?’
‘Mumps…’
‘Mumps?’
‘Yes, do you ever get a mump, singular, or do they always come along in groups?’
‘That’s a very good question. A mump… I’ll have to think about that – you haven’t got one have you?’
‘No, it was just an idle thought.’
‘Good…’

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Ed Overheels.

A single overheard remark:
‘They can noticeboard themselves when they get there…’
(Hm, the verb ‘to noticeboard’ – I’ve not come across that one before.)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, instruction, learning, overheard, serendipity, surrealism, war, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One or two titchy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Hum, well, Ed (or is it ‘Ed – with a silent H?), I’m sure you’ll remember when communication was confined to words in the dictionary….and then rarely “new” words were added with great adulation and pronouncement! Last year I had a 3 hour (although it seemed to last longer) conversation, captive on a plane, with a 21 year old rapper/poet – – while I got the general gist, he felt the need to explain his slang (hella, bougie, etc.) so periodically he would stop for me to acknowledge I understood….because, apparently I’m old and don’t keep up well. I hope that doesn’t sound like humblebragging.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, yes Dana, it is Ed (head) – up in Northern England, here in Dulltown, we generally don’t sound our ‘H’s very often.
      Me, I think I’d have jumped out of the plane window if I had to chat to a young rapper/poet for three hours – gosh they are all so confident and macho!… I once did have a vinyl album of Run DMC though – it was not without wit…
      Humblebragging eh?…

Leave a Reply

